Blue Eyes Crying In the Rain

I don’t know why, but I like Rick Neuheisel.  It might be the fact he stood up to USC when he came to UCLA.  It might be has blond hair and blue eyes like me. 

I have some old stand bys I always cheer for other than UGA.  It was Akransas when Houston Nutt was there.  I also cheered for Texas Tech when Mike Leech was there.  I pull for Navy.  I also pulled for UCLA.

Why the love for Neuheisel?  I can’t say.  UCLA does not fit the Grit Tree mantra of “All things Georgia, All things Southern.”  It is a wierd affinity I have, I know.  I can’t understand it.

So when UCLA announced that Coach Neuheisel would not be back in 2012, the rain outside matched the mood in my heart.  Uchee suggested I listen to Sweet Caroline to cheer me up and remember the good times I had over the last 4 seasons pulling for UCLA.  Granite, though, shared with me this song that fits the mood:

Happy Trails, Rick Neuheisel. 

Corbindawg

4 Responses to “Blue Eyes Crying In the Rain”


  1. 1 Granite November 28, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    January 12, 2010 was the beginning of the end of baby blue eyes. I’m just amazed he lasted two seasons no longer being the prettiest man in Los Angeles

  2. 2 ucheedawgedawg November 28, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    I had to see corbin after the news broke….it was pitiful. Poor guy.

  3. 3 Sanford222View November 29, 2011 at 9:53 am

    Obviously you have never had him as a coach for a team you truly cared about. He is a very good OC but is a terrible HC.

    I went to CU Boulder for undergrad and witnessed first hand as “Blue Eyes” dismantled the program McCartney had built. The Buffs went from being an intimidating, bust you in the mouth team to being soft and undisciplined under Slick Rick. He didn’t care much about recruiting offensive lineman either. Barnett was a big upgrade when Neuheisel left.


Leave a Reply

