BBQ Thursday: Traveling

Hope you guys have fun and safe holiday weekend.

If you are doing some traveling, be sure to check out our BBQ map where all our reviews are archived.  You can take a “pit” stop at one of the joints if you are heading to the beach, lake, or some other locale.   Just click on the little piggy on the map for directions and a link to the review.

I didn’t take any pictures, but I ate some ribs from Georgia Bob’s in Perry this week.

Now, I have to say this:  I’ve called Georgia Bob’s an overrated barbecue joint.  The Macon Telegraph has awarded it the “Best of the Best” several times, but I just don’t see it.  I mean, it’s fine if you want a BBQ sandwich.  But it’s nothing special and folks around the mid-state love it.

However,  I never had gotten the ribs.  I got the rib plate for the first time this week, and it was awesome.  The ribs were some of the best I’ve had in a restaurant.

And if you have an appetite, don’t spring for the half rack.  The basic rib plate was loaded down, and it was all I could do to finish it.  I even skipped dinner that night.

There are locations right off I-75 in Macon, Byron, and Perry, so if you are going to the beach, stop by and get a belly full of ribs.

Corbindawg

 

 

4 Responses to “BBQ Thursday: Traveling”


  1. 1 dawgdaddy May 26, 2016 at 12:09 pm

    We have had a Georgia Bob’s here in Milledgeville for about 3 years.

  2. 4 Brad Bradsher May 26, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    There is also a Georgia Bob’s in Warner Robins


Leave a Reply

