BBQ Thursday: JB’s Smokin Pig

I like to play golf.  I am not very good at golf, but I enjoy playing the game.  Moreover, I enjoy being outside on a beautiful day (where it doesn’t involve yard work), drinking a few cold beers, and shooting the bull with the guys.

With work and family responsibilities (and limited funds), I don’t get to play as often as I would like.  Playing on a Saturday is especially tough.  So, a group of us figured out it would be easier (and cheaper) if we all just took a random weekday off work and hit the links.  It would be cheaper, and we wouldn’t take any time away from our wives.

So that is what I did earlier this week.  The golf game left much to be desired.  Like I said, I am not good.  At all.  I hit a few good shots, but I have the consistency of UGA Special Teams.  The golf swing earlier this week when we ventured out to Lane Creek was especially erratic.  Nevertheless, it was a great time by all, and thanks to my partner who was striking the ball very well, I came away with a few dollars.

We finished up around 2:00, so we decided that we would hit up the newest restaurant in Watkinsville, JB’s Smokin Pig BBQ.  I didn’t go in with the mindset of doing a review; I was just going to get a sandwich to hold me over to suppertime and get in and get out quickly.

But after one look at the sandwich, I felt this place was definitely review worthy.

IMG_0608

I didn’t take a picture of the place, but for those familiar with the area will know where it is.  It’s located at the corner Main Street and Experiment Station Road, right next to Chicken Express.  This is in the former Floyd’s Restaurant building, and Google Street View hasn’t even been updated yet.

JB

Like I said, we went at an odd time, and I just wanted to try it out more than anything else.  So I just ordered the regular sandwich, a bag of chips, and a sweet tea, so this will be an abbreviated view.

As soon as I got my sandwich, I could just tell it was going to be good.

And boy was it ever.

Great tasting meat, and what we should appreciate, the sauce wasn’t mixed in.  My only quibble with the meat was it was not warm.  I wouldn’t call it cold, just room temperature.  I will give it the benefit of the doubt since we weren’t eating at a peak time.   Regardless, it was very good.

Speaking of the sauce, there were many combinations to choose from.  There were hot and mild choices of red (tomato based), mustard, and vinegar sauces.

Many of my tee shots may not have gone past the ladies’ tee box, but that doesn’t mean I wore a skirt.  So I manned up and got a a sample of the hot varieties of the sauces.

I didn’t care for the red sauce.  It was OK, but a little too much tomato.  The mustard sauce was good, but I’m not a big mustard sauce person and just sampled it.

But y’all, the hot vinegar sauce was outstanding!

My sandwich was so good, I ordered another one.  Eating two sandwiches for a late lunch and skipping supper was the best decision I made that day.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get any of the sides.  One of the guys in our group got an order of the baked beans, and they looked good.  He was kind enough to let me try them.  They weren’t traditional baked beans, but still very good.  Many different types of beans, and the beans were full of meat mixed in.

The party that ordered in front of us got the stew, and it looked suspicious, appearing eerily similar to hash.  Hash isn’t good, and it certainly isn’t stew.  But, I’ll withhold judgement until I can go back again, which I fully intend to do.

If you are in Watkinsville, do yourself a favor and stop by.  Be forewarned, they are closed on Sundays and Mondays but open for lunch and dinner the rest of the week.  Apparently Wednesdays are rib nights.

Corbindawg

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “BBQ Thursday: JB’s Smokin Pig”


  1. 1 Mike Cooley April 28, 2016 at 6:08 pm

    I know I’ve said this before but I’m really glad y’all are back. And I love BBQ Thursdays.


Leave a Reply

