BBQ Thursday: Community Q BBQ

Yesterday, life took me to Decatur, GA.  One thing I pride myself on is my ability to navigate around Atlanta, not being native to there.  My brother has lived all around Atlanta, and I feel like I know my way around pretty well.  Getting off the interstate and driving around the side streets doesn’t bother me, like it might some folks.

But the Decatur area is a place I am not all that familiar with.  I spent a good deal of time there about ten years ago when my mom had an illness that required an extended stay at Emory, but I was mostly confined to the hospital and the surrounding area.

I got finished up with my work around lunch, and contemplated driving home.  My yard is in desperate need of attention, but just for the heck of it I looked up nearby BBQ places.  I saw that Community Q was very close, so I decided to give it a shot.  I had heard good things.

To say I was skeptical when I pulled in was an understatement.  There is a certain standard of which a BBQ joint must meet, and the outside tells you a lot about a place.  Community Q is not far from the Emory Campus on Clairmont Road, and it was nestled in between some Asian restaurants.

Sign

Store front

As I walked up, I could smell faint scents of smoked meat, but it was hard to discern what exactly I was smelling.  It was around 1:00 when I got there, and the line was very long, which was a good sign.

Line

I only had to wait in this line for about ten minutes, so it wasn’t so bad.  And I waited in line longer than I waited to get my food once  I ordered.   The fellow at the cash register was talking about the Braves’ move to Cobb County was stupid, so I knew I was with friends.

This was a place I’ve never been to before, and likely won’t get back to anytime soon, so I should have ordered a sampler of many different items.  There were lots of options to choose from.  Brisket, ribs, sausage all looked good.  But this ain’t Texas and it ain’t Fox Bros., and I wasn’t in a rib mood.  When I review a place for the first time, I like to get pulled pork to keep it consistent. Plus, I wasn’t all that hungry, so I just stuck to a pulled pork sandwich and two sides.  Throw in a sweet tea and at tip, my lunch was $16.00, so not exactly a cheap place.

I ordered my sandwich, and asked the guy at the register taking my order which sides to were good.  He said the mac n’ cheese was really good, and also recommended the stew.  Not one to argue with the experts, that is what I got.

Plate

First off, the mac n’ cheese was good.  It was fine.  But it wasn’t anything special, in my opinion.  I didn’t even finish it.  The stew was good.  I enjoyed it, but again, it wasn’t anything special.

That takes us to the main attraction, the meat.  This was some of the best barbecue I’ve ever had.  It had a nice char on it, had a great flavor, was tender.  It basically was everything you want in barbecue.   The sauce was pretty good too.

The only regret I have about Community Q is I was by myself and couldn’t share more meat with someone else.

Though not a traditional kind of place, I would rank the pork at Community Q right up there with some of the best I’ve ever had.  If you are in the area, forego the sides and just get meat.  You won’t go home disappointed.   Can’t say enough on how good it was.

Corbindawg

Community Q is located at 1361 Clairmont Road in Decatur.  

 

 

 

1 Response to “BBQ Thursday: Community Q BBQ”


  1. 1 Alexis April 14, 2016 at 12:24 pm

    You should have ordered the collards as a side. They are delicious.


Leave a Reply

