Unsolicited Book Recommendation

Nothing related to UGA, but an unpaid and unsolicited book recommendation.  I go through spurts of reading.  I may read several books back-to-back-to-back, then go months or over a year without reading another book.

At Christmas and for my recent birthday, I got a couple of Barnes and Noble gift cards.  I didn’t know what book I was going to get, and had settled on buying a few children’s books for my little girl.  Books that will, inevitably, get destroyed.

But on my long commute home the other day, I was listening to the Tony Kornheiser show podcast.  Quick aside-I love Tony Kornheiser.

Anyway, he had John Feinstein on, and Feinstein was talking about his latest book, The Legends Club.  It is about the rivalry, animosity and friendships between Dean Smith, Mike Krzyewski, and Jim Valvano.

I started reading it last night.  I only got three chapters in, but it is very interesting and I can’t wait to get deeper into it.

If you are looking for something to read and have some Barnes and Noble (or Amazon, I suppose) gift cards to blow, I suggest you give this a shot.

Corbindawg

2 Responses to “Unsolicited Book Recommendation”


  1. 1 Vineyarddawg March 4, 2016 at 11:11 am

    How about another unsolicited book recommendation? Or, to be more accurate, an unsolicited author recommendation?

    I know the book you mentioned is nonfiction, but if you like reading really well-done fiction from time to time, Brandon Sanderson has quickly become my favorite author ever since I first read his work about 18 months ago. Not trashy, not cliched, and he has a way of winding a narrative that just works with what I like to read. His books… well, let’s just say they ain’t short, but they’re almost always worth the time it takes to read them.

    I also like that he’s exceptionally fan-friendly in his interactions, and he doesn’t take years and years to write stuff like some other popular authors do (cough *GRRM* cough *ROTHFUSS* cough). I’d recommend starting with one of his standalone books like Warbreaker or Elantris, or Mistborn:The Final Empire if you don’t mind getting tied into a trilogy that you’ll absolutely want to finish if you read the first book. His Stormlight Archive series is my favorite so far, but those books are mega-huge and a little slower-paced than most others, so it might not be the first thing you want to jump into. (The first book in that series is The Way of Kings.)

  2. 2 Tim (Watkinsville) March 4, 2016 at 11:37 am

    I recommend Feinstein’s ‘Where nobody knows your name: Life in the minor leagues’. He does an excellent job of capturing the life experiences and the overall ‘flavor’ of minor league ball. I had to ration myself to one chapter an evening in order to make it last. It was that good.


Leave a Reply

