Kansas City: BBQ, Steak, & Beer

 

*Just a note – I’m the Kenny Powers of the group.  So….Hide Ya Kids, and some material may be NSFW.  I don’t know where you work, so I don’t know.

IMG_0557First of all, I’d like to apologize for the long delay on my first post to TGT.  What I have been doing is making late-night tweets about CORN, sports, Ted Cruz, and BBQ on my TGT twitter account (@Dawgs4CORN).  This is a great outlet for many things, especially driving my main man Corbin crazy.  Thanks for understanding.

I recently made a trip out Missoura Way.  I wasn’t sure what to expect, but as a fan of all things CORN, I expected there was a reason they put the name “Kansas” in Kansas City.  I was expecting CORN as far as the eye could see, with 0 trees, 0 hills, and an unforgiveable arctic climate – I was wrong on everything but the climate.

I’ve always heard three things about KCMO: steak, BBQ, blues.  Three pretty good things in my book.

Upon arrival, I decided to take in the steak aspect of the city.  I’d done my research, everyone talks about the Hereford House, the Golden Ox (which is closed BTW), and many more.  I decided on The Majestic Restaurant for several reasons, but mostly the fact that its downtown – I didn’t fly halfway across the country to Uber to the suburbs and eat in a stripmall (mild pet-peeve of mine), they have live blues and jazz in the basement, and it looked FANTASTIC…..and was.

IMG_0517

One thing I learned about KC was that it is a fantastic beer nerd city.  One thing you will learn about me is that I’m on a life-long search to find beer that I don’t like (at this point, I’ve had one).  The city has several good breweries nearby (which will be discussed in detail later), and numerous craft beer bars that have good specials ($3 local pints on Sundays…).  These are all positive things for my inner beer-nerd.

One day of my trip was dedicated to tourism, specifically Boulevard Brewing, Arthur Bryant’s BBQ, and Arrowhead Stadium (home of the Kansas City Chiefs).IMG_0556

My itinerary for this trip was backwards, but it led to an awesome day.  I’ll be blunt, I don’t eat breakfast, so a trip to a brewery at 11:00 AM can lead to one of two things:

1.      Mid-day tears

2.      Mid day grumpiness

Boulevard Brewing was founded by a struggling artist who had rich parents in 1989.  It seems to me that this man was the original hipster.  He has turned a simple hobby into the 12th largest brewery in the US, and has not sold out to Macro-brew ideals one bit.  This is a man who uses all the money saved (a lot of money BTW) by recycling bottles to feed all of his employees from marketing to warehouse to custodial every Wednesday.  Boulevard has done a great job of keeping the craft and local parts of their mission in tact while growing.  When I say that the brewery is big, I mean it is BIG; we are all astounded by Terrapin and Sweetwater, but this is probably twice as big as those two combined…if not larger.

IMG_0555

They also make a fantastic product.  Missouri has much more effective beer laws than we in Georgia, allowing you to buy beer at a brewery (RADICAL concept).  They make several beers that you can buy in Georgia, but I’d like to highlight one in particular – the Rye-On-Rye-On-Rye.  This is a rye ale that is double aged in rye whiskey barrels.  Weighing in at 14.6% ABV, this is a great breakfast for any growing dawg.IMG_0548

One note about the natives, they are CRAZY about their World Series win.  Must be nice.

I then made the trek across the city to Arthur Bryant’s BBQ.  It was started in the 1920s.  From my research, it is the original KC BBQ joint.  A note about the location, it’s in a rough area, but IMO that adds to the appeal.IMG_0523

They offer a wide variety of products, but the ribs are fantastic!  They do serve regular pig ‘que, but all I can say is it ain’t from Old Clinton.  They have sliced beef that is decent.  Sides are decent.  They like to brag on their fries, but they are pretty soggy and therefore not for me.  The sauce is really heavy on paprika and light on vinegar, but to be honest is unnecessary.  The environment is the best part of it, the floors are greasy in a way (better wear oil resistant shoes), great aroma, and if I remember correctly (brewery got me all dizzy) there is a picture of Morgan Freeman on the wall….or Danny Glover.

IMG_0522

My friend Kensington told me to go to a joint in Kansas City, Kansas called Oklahoma Joes.  It is in an Exxon station and the line wraps around the building multiple times at lunch.  I really wanted to go, but couldn’t get the time.IMG_0562

Another admission; I don’t really follow NFL football, but the trip to Arrowhead was really cool.  I learned a lot of history about the franchise.  Coolest part of the tour was going down on the field and the trip to the locker room, where some of our favorite Dawgs get dressed.  The tours are led by diehard fans (interestingly called the redcoats).  The redcoats travel with the team, and are the ones who lead the team on the field on gamedays.  I asked our Redcoat what he thought of Aaron Murray’s new MTV-themed haircut, and got this response: HAHAHAHAHAAH (but in a Midwestern old man voice).

All in all, KCMO is a great place to go.  Give it a visit.

CORNdawg

