Defense Performance Was A Long Time Coming

As I was leaving Sanford Stadium Saturday night, my wife and I ran into my brother-in-law and two nephews.  Both of nephews-10 and 7-are at the age where they are big into sports.  They both play football, baseball, basketball.  And though the 10-year-old has been getting into Georgia football for a few  years now, the 7-year-old is starting to really get into it also.

So Saturday night we navigated through the crowd together.  After that 2nd half where the defense dominated, I was in shock of what I had just seen.

I turned to my 10-year-old nephew, who was born New Years Day 2004, and told him “The Georgia Defense hasn’t played that good since before you were born.”

Technically, that isn’t true.  I guess the 2004 season the defense was still pretty good.  But, hey, I had a flair for the dramatic.

But just let that sink in for a minute.

There have been good defensive performances over the past 10 years.  Most of the 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2011 seasons I’d say the defense played very well.  There  have been individual games where they were very good and dominant.

And it wasn’t perfect Saturday night, as Jeremy Pruitt is making abundantly clear.

But still.

You know there is an “it” feeling.  You know “it” when you see it.  I know Clemson was one game against a team that was replacing a whole lot on the road in a hostile atmosphere.  I know I am trying to keep my head from being too high in the clouds.

But what I saw on Saturday, I haven’t seen or felt in a long time.

It appears the defense finally has “it” back.

Corbindawg

0 Responses to “Defense Performance Was A Long Time Coming”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

