Auburn Proving Me Wrong

I did this post back in the summer. I said that Nick Marshall at QB for Auburn would prove to be a bad thing and that Guz Malzahn would not be successful.

If I am anything, I am fair.  I will do something that folks like Bill Shanks refuse to do.

I will say I was wrong.

Now, when I wrote that piece I truly believed what I said.  Marshall’s success at a QB was mixed in junior college, and neither Alabama nor Georgia wanted him as a QB when he was being heavily recruited.  Malzhan’s offense at Auburn wasn’t as impressive as the people on the Plains would lead you to believe.  It simply wasn’t.

You also can’t discount the tremendous amount of luck that has befallen the Tigers.  Most teams go a decade without having one fluke, crazy or lucky play go their way.  Auburn has had it happen in their favor twice in back to back games.

But, with all that said, the Auburn Tigers are heading to Atlanta for the second time in four years.  Even with lucky plays going your way, you don’t go toe to toe with Nick Saban and the mighty Crimson Tide and come out the victor unless you’ve done a lot of things right.

It will be interesting to see if Auburn can sustain itself long term.  I think the jury is still out in that regard.  But for the time being, I am man enough to say I was wrong and everyone deserves a pat on the back.  A very remarkable job.

Corbindawg

1 Response to “Auburn Proving Me Wrong”


  1. 1 Hogbody Spradlin December 2, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    I have some Pepto Bismol to help that crow stay down.


Leave a Reply

