A Dawg Nation Thanksgiving

“And dear lord, I prayed, please bless those not as fortunate as I.”

On behalf of all of us here at TGT, we wish all of you a Happy Thanksgiving. 

As Bulldogs, it goes without saying that we have so much to be thankful for.

I’m thankful that out of all the college towns in the country, we get to call the greatest of them all, Athens, home.

I’m thankful for an open west end zone at Sanford Stadium, offering an ever constant window to the rest of campus.

Im thankful for the Loran Smith and Larry Munson impersonators all around the Georgia fan base, and for the fond memories over the years from Larry on the radio. “Get the picture, now…”

I’m thankful for Mark Richt. At times, the program is not where we’d like it to be, but it beats the heck out of the wilderness of UGA football in the time before. And we don’t worry about our head coach embarrassing the program off the field, a la Petrino or Kiffin.

I’m thankful for the greatest mascot in all of sports, Uga.

I’m thankful for the second family many of us have that is rooted in six or so Saturdays a season – our tailgate families.

I’m thankful for Herschel.

I’m thankful to my parents for raising me as a Bulldog fan.

I’m thankful that we’re not nerds.

I’m thankful that the Redcoats don’t play that idiotic Budweiser song. 

I’m thankful for how the silver britches look.

I’m thankful that no matter what Nike does to UGA’s uniforms, it will never, ever include orange.

I’m thankful that Florida is a dumpster fire. As they say, ‘it couldn’t happen to a nicer bunch of folks.’

I’m thankful for P-44 Haynes and 47-X takeoff.

I’m thankful that somehow we’re all able to remain steadfast Bulldogs despite perpetual bad luck this program runs into.

I’m thankful that the Bulldog Nation, the south and many other parts were given the gift of Lewis’ humor, and highly thankful that he was a Bulldog.

Go Dawgs!

Lugnut Dawg

1 Response to “A Dawg Nation Thanksgiving”


  1. 1 Kathi worthy December 1, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    I love these words!


Leave a Reply

