Number of 30 Point Games since 2005

I was alarmed of the amount of times this UGA defense has given up 30 or more points in recent games (4 in a row).

I was curious to see the number of times the Dawgs have given up that high amount in Grantham’s tenure.

Then I got to thinking…how many times have they given up a “good” number of points in this same time?  For the purposes, of this, I said that a “good” number of points was anything under than 20.  “Bad” is anything over 30.

Then I got to think even further…how many times did Willie Martinez defense give up a “good” versus a “bad” number of points?

2005:   2 bad, 10 good
2006:   1 bad, 7 good
2007:   3 bad, 8 good
2008:   5 bad, 7 good
2009:   6 bad, 3 good

2010:   5 bad, 6 good
2011:   4 bad, 8 good
2012:   4 bad, 6 good
2013:   2 bad

Total since 2005:  32 bad, 55 good
2005-2009:          17 bad, 35 good
2010-2013:          15 bad, 20 good

First off, I know there are many flaws in this.  Like, in 2011, I wrote a series of looking closer at the defense and how they played better and scoring stats were skewed to turnovers and special teams (2011 South Carolina).  Any crude look at stats without digging too deep into it (like the “Aaron Murray can’t win a big game”) should be used as a launching pad for conversation and not the gospel.

It also doesn’t dig that deep and account for games against cupcakes or good opponents.  But, I think it is safe to say that you have several games a year where the expectation is to have a “good” game from a scoring defense perspective. What that number ought to be, I don’t know.

I just want to give you the numbers.  I don’t want to offer much commentary.

I have just four observations:

1. The defense in 2005 and 2006 was underappreciated I think.  We talk about the 2005 Auburn game and the Sugar Bowl, but that 2005 defense was still pretty stout.  As was the 2006 unit (the lone “bad” game was that Tennessee debacle).

2. That 2009 unit was bad.  I mean, really bad.

3. 4 losses in 2011 were all games where Georgia gave up 30 or more points.

4.  I can’t stress enough how flawed looking just at the stats without deeper interpretation can be.  However, I think it is also safe to say that Coach Grantham shouldn’t be immune from criticism, and instead of Georgia fans launching arrows at Bobo and Murray, how about let’s send a few Coach Grantham’s way.

Oh, I forgot.  He yells, cusses and shows emotion on the sideline.  Nevermind.

Corbindawg

1 Response to “Number of 30 Point Games since 2005”


  1. 1 Bennie September 16, 2013 at 11:31 am

    Richt is the worst ever at picking defensive coordinators.


Leave a Reply

