Just Don’t See Dawgs Winning Saturday Night

If you read the Grit Tree often, you know I am an optimistic fan.  I think Georgia is going, or has a chance, to win almost every game.  Rarely do I think we are just going to get beaten.

I can recount a few times I thought we were just going to flat out get beat.  2007, 2009 and 2012 Florida games stand out as ones where I just thought we didn’t have a snowball’s chance in Hell of winning.

As much as it pains me to say this, I don’t think our Dawgs come out of Death Valley Saturday night as victors.

And you know why I think that?  Georgia will lose because of the offense (in a roundabout way).

The problems with Georgia’s secondary has been well documented.  The healthiest player is Josh Harvey-Clemons, the only player who is ineligible to play!  Now it appears Tray Matthews will be healthy enough to play, but the guy is a true freshman and has had limited practice time to prepare for the high powered Clemson offense.

How are we going to slow down-forget about stopping-Taj Boyd and Sammy Watkins?  I have no beef with Connor Norman-he has been a DGD who has earned his playing time-but I also don’t think he is capable of playing every down against Clemson.  I watched some replays of the Missouri game last year.  There were plays when receivers were running wide open in and then you’d see #11 scampering far behind trying to catch up.

And this is why the offense is not going to be able to keep up.

Look here, I am not one of these detractors who think that Aaron Murray is not good in a big game or just puts up padded, gaudy stats against weaker competition.  I said earlier this week I think he is one of the best QBs in the history of the SEC.  However, in the games Aaron doesn’t play well in, what is the one thing we always say?

That he presses too much.  Tries to make a big play when it isn’t there.

Let’s put aside all the Murray love that has been fostering all offseason.  I see a scenario playing out where Murray goes in thinking “Damn, we are going to have to score 50 to even win.”  A bad throw here or there when trying to make a play gets picked off.  This will give Clemson’s offense to make their big plays on our inexperienced, short manned Secondary.

The defense will actually do a yeoman’s work in slowing down Clemson’s offense, but I am afraid the Georgia offense will do its fair share to help Clemson’s cause.

Final score-Clemson 38, Georgia 27 (which is the UNDER).

I don’t think an opening game loss will ruin the season. I like us to get healthy enough to stop Carolina (their offense is different than Clemson’s and won’t put as much pressure on the secondary anyway), and will improve exponentially by the time LSU and Florida roll around.  I fully expect Georgia to lose to Clemson and win out the rest of the way leading up to a rematch against Alabama and another semi-final for the BCS National Championship.

Now, unlike others who preach doom and gloom (Bill Shanks), I hope I am wrong.  I would love more than anything to report back next week and let you all tell me how wrong I am.

Corbindawg

13 Responses to “Just Don’t See Dawgs Winning Saturday Night”


  1. 1 Tuxedodawg August 29, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    I definitely think our defense is going to fall short of stopping their offense a few times, but I’m more optimistic in thinking that Georgia’s offense will continue to match the points. My prediction for this game is for it to quickly turn into a shootout. I just hope Murray and company will have brought enough bullets.

    I hope we’re both wrong and the defense shows that they’re healthy and confident, despite their age.

  2. 2 paul August 29, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    Up until a day or two ago I would have agreed with every single word you wrote. I don’t know if it’s the adrenaline of the games finally getting underway or just the unbridled optimism of a shiny new season but somehow I’m thinking we’re going to pull this out. Given that I was in the dome for Boise I cannot explain this. I love Mark Richt but, historically, his teams have been slow starters. Against all logic and reason, I’m thinking that eventually Clemson is going to be Clemson and Georgia can exploit that just enough to get the win. Maybe even pull away in the fourth. Maybe. Use the force Luke. Let go.

  3. 3 Corbindawg August 29, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    By about 8:10 Saturday night, I am going to change my tune and belive the Dawgs are going to win.

  4. 4 dawg August 29, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    I dont know what it is, but the closer we get, the more confident I get. All this talk about our depth and experience at O line, I think our D line and linebackers are gonna have a lot to say about things, Clemson lost a lot of their Offensive production last year, etc….

  5. 5 Otto August 29, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    My fear is that the UGA offense will try to match the up tempo speed of Clemson, which will tire the young defense and risk giving up turnovers.

    A Strong OL and 2 of the best RBs, the best plan IMO is to limit possesions. UGA needs to avoid the go pattern tendancy especially on 2 and medium between the 35s. I believe UGA keeps it close but, how they keep it close is critical. The offense can win the game if they can do their part in keeping the UGA defense fresh, and tiring the Clemson D.

  6. 6 Matt August 29, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    We have a better defense even with our secondary issues. Our O-Line and running game is much better than Clemson. Last time I checked, if you dominate the line of scrimmage and have the best running back tandem in the country you will win most games.

    We will have a bigger challenge with FL, LSU and SC because I’m not sure we will win in the trenches against those opponents. I think we will handle Clemson but I do expect them to put up some points.

    GA 41 CLEMSON 27

  7. 7 Whiskeydawg August 29, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    I think your view is colored by Georgia’s last few season starts (who can blame you for that). I don’t know CMR nor do I pay a lot of attention to everything he says, but the last few pictures I’ve seen of him, he looks different. His eyes and demeanor have a more determined, grittier look to them. Maybe I’m crazy, but I think CMR will have the Dawgs ready to play and I believe Grantham will have the D prepared. Will it be enough? Who knows? I think it will come down to our O line and their D line. If we can control the line of scrimmage and run on them and eat clock, it’s the Dawgs all the way.

  8. 8 Dboy August 29, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    UGA has advantages at too many key positions to have Clemson run them over. It may be a nail biter, but now way Clemson beats us thoroughly. Our OL, Running game, WR, and experience QB will control the game IMO. Although both teams have issues on defense, our Defense has a better recent track record / overall talent level. I think your overall score is about right but your have the teams reversed: UGA 31 Clemson 21.

    I get the vibe that Richt is really focused this year and taking more of a Sabanesqe persona of demanding excellence. We will see how it works out soon. Go Dawgs!

  9. 9 C August 29, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    All I know is so far we are undefeated! Go Dawgs!

  10. 10 DawgByte August 29, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    I clicked on the dawgbone.com link and as soon as I saw the banner at the top and your ridiculous mug I knew there was no point in reading your brainless pablum. Why do you even bother?

  11. 11 Greg August 29, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    Last year, Clemson ranked something like 110th in the country on defense in terms of number of plays given up of 30+ yards. And their O scored 30 more against everyone….except Auburn, SC and LSU. I’ll take UGA 41-27.

  12. 12 Ryan August 29, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    Lets hope you’re wrong

  13. 13 Tommy August 30, 2013 at 1:53 am

    Even if you think our team is going to lose, as bad as that is, how can you put that to paper. Man i read your stuff and like it, but to put that much bad ju-ju on the guys right before they go to war is crazy…P.S. I know your a bulldog through and through but stop the negitive vibe.


Leave a Reply

