Call For Advice

Dear reader,

I would like some help with something.  First off, a little back ground.  I am an OK griller.  I am not good at anything fancy, but I can grill a mean hamburger, steak, and piece of chicken.  We all have particular things we are good at, and though it is pretty simple, I am good at those things.

You must also know your own limitations.  I am leary of trying new things, for fear of messing them up.  I tried to grill a pork tenderloin one time, and it didn’t turn out so hot (literally, it was badly  undercooked), so I just stick to what I know and do well.

Anyway, this past weekend we grilled out in celebration of Father’s Day.  My in laws aren’t big grill people, so at any family gathering I am the designated griller.  They like my burgers, I like sneaking a cold beer around my teetotaling extended family, so it is a win-win.  We were discussing an upcoming beach vacation and who was doing meals, and I said I’d handle burgers and hot dogs.  My father-in-law said some ribs would be good, and I replied I don’t know how to grill ribs.  He said I could learn how.

I don’t want to seem unmanly in the eyes of my father-in-law, and since there will be other food options available, I am open to experimenting with some ribs while we are in Florida.  I am sure many of you are superior grillers, so I am asking for an easy recipe or way to grill ribs.  The house we are staying at does not have a charcoal grill that I am aware of, so I will be having to (unfortunately) be using gas.

Please supply any suggestions in the comment section.  Not only suggestions on how to actually cook them, but any marinade would be good.

Kind regards,

Corbindawg

10 Responses to “Call For Advice”


  1. 1 South FL Dawg June 17, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Ok I’m just a girl but I can help with this. Ribs need to cook slow to get tender. I cook them in the oven and then finish them on the grill and here is how. Put your racks of ribs racks in a roaster so they are standing on their side. Put water and/or beer in the roaster. The ribs will be half immersed. Cover with foil to keep the steam in. Put them in the oven at 300-325 degrees for 1.5 hours, turning them half way through so the other side is immersed. When cooked the meat should be falling off the bone so handle gently. This is where a man comes in….put the ribs on foil, brush your favorite sauce on them, and put them on the grill for just a few minutes to get a crispy layer. Cheers!

  2. 2 Vineyarddawg June 17, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    One word as it relates to ribs: RUB. Gotta have a rub.

    IMO, gas is better for grilling ribs anyway, unless you’re using an honest-to-god smoker. Figure out where the gas grill’s burners are, and only turn half of them on. Use the built-in thermometer to preheat the grill to an appropriate temperature (350 or so) and put the ribs over the side that’s turned off. (See? Indirect heat.) Cook until done. You can even jerry-rig a smoker by soaking some chips, putting them in some aluminum foil you’ve fashioned into a makeshift bowl, and setting them on the grates of the part of the grill that’s turned on. (Don’t put the ribs on until they start smoking, though.)

    Disclaimer: Alton Brown is my cooking god, and he likes grilling with gas, too. So take my advice with a grain of salt. I do like his recipe for a rub that works with pork ribs, though. Just google “Alton Brown ribs” and you’ll find it.

  3. 3 Roby Gunn June 17, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    I, like South FL Dawg, start mine in the oven. But, I half or quarter my racks and submerse them in apple cider vinegar and cover the roaster in tinfoil. Then I cook them for four to five hrs. at 200 degrees. I mix Thomas Bro’s and Bone Suckin’ Sauce together, add a little red wine vinegar and garlic salt, mix, then baste. When on the grill, I baste with the sauce each time I turn them (twice each side). Make plenty of sauce for dunking!

  4. 4 adam June 17, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    Go to http://www.amazingribs.com
    You won’t regret it.

  5. 5 Hogbody Spradlin June 17, 2013 at 3:49 pm

    Corbin, I get excellent results par boiling ribs. I’m not 100% sure what par boiling means, but I think it has something to do with partially boiling. My wife par boils the ribs in a spiced stock, then puts the rub on. The grilling job is reduced to grilling them just enough to slather on liquid sauce and let it penetrate a little.

    Also, be sure to use genuine baby back ribs if you’re using pork. They cook out more tender with better flavor.

    Here’s a nice link about par boiled ribs: http://thehousingforum.com/how-to-cook-pork-spare-ribs/

  6. 6 Corbindawg June 18, 2013 at 8:23 am

    Thanks!

  7. 7 Tim (Watkinsville) June 18, 2013 at 8:55 am

    I cook baby backs on my Big Green Egg indirect heat at 250 degrees for 6 hours total. First, remove the silver skin on the back of the racks. Rub them down with regular mustard (hot dog mustard). Now apply your rub of choice, I make my own or buy Emeryls rib rub. Put them in the refrigerator for several hours, this helps ‘set’ the rub.
    I then place the racks in a rib rack so they stand up in the smoke. Leave them in the smoke for three hours. After that, gently wrap them in heavy duty aluminum foil. Spritz them down with a 50-50 mixture of apple cider vinegar and apple juice. Seal them up tight and return to the grill (sans rib rack, just lie the foil packs down flat). Cook for 2 hours. After that, remove the racks from the foil and lie them down flat for the last hour. The final 20-30 minutes you can baste them with your sauce of choice. I seldom do this, the flavor of the rub and smoke is good enough for me. And no, you’ll never know the mustard was there. Its just used to make the rub stick better.
    This will produce fall off the bone ribs. If you are a stickler for competition quality ribs, they should not be fall off the bone, but have a little ‘bite’ to them. I am not a competition cook so I like them fall off the bone. If you want a little firmer outcome, use the same techniques but reduce the time to 3-1-1.
    In addition to natural lump charcoal I will add either hickory chunks or pecan chunks. Let me know if you have questions or want pictures, I tend to take pictures of my better cooks.

    • 8 4BoysBrewPub June 18, 2013 at 10:36 am

      This has always been my method and I have never had any complaints. I also like to use cherry wood chunks but with a gas grill you can use the cherry wood chips wrapped in a tin foil pouch with holes punched in it.

  8. 9 paul June 20, 2013 at 9:41 am

    Well you already got some advice on how to use the grill. Don’t use a marinade though, use a rub. You can probably buy a decent rub. I like to make mine. I use Paul Kirk’s recipe for a master class rub. After you make it once or twice you can modify to your own tastes.

    1 cup granulated sugar
    2 tablespoons ground black pepper
    1/4 cup ground garlic
    1 tablespoon lemon pepper
    1/4 cup celery salt
    2 teaspoons ground sage
    1/4 cup ground onion
    1 teaspoon dry mustard
    1/4 cup seasoned salt
    1/2 teaspoon ground thyme
    1/2 cup paprika
    1/2 teaspoon ground red pepper
    3 tablespoons chili powder

    Cook them low and slow and you won’t need much, if any, sauce when you eat them.

  9. 10 albanydawg June 22, 2013 at 6:49 am

    Boiling Ribs ain’t Christian. If you’re going to boil why not just completely lose your dignity and microwave them? It’s quicker and much less painful I’m glad the commentors don’t use real names or I would be (more) embarrased for them. I was about to type but read Tim’s advice and pretty much agree with him. To emphasize, taking off the silver skin is a must. It doesn’t take long and you can tell the difference. Spritzing with apple juice is a must. DON’T use water. It’s dries out the ribs. I don’t like ribs “falling off the bone”. If the meat falls off the bone you might as well go eat a McRib. It should be tender yet be able to hold on to the bone until the time you take a bite. And then it should only come off the bone where you took said bite. I feel like Tim and I would get along (and also sounds like we’ve been given similar advice).


Leave a Reply

