Father’s Day Is Special This Year

On February 6, 2013, my life changed for better.  My beautiful little girl entered this world at 4:56 pm healthy as could be.

The past four and half months have been a blessing beyond any measure.

Like most men, I’d imagine, I was hesitant to the idea of having kids.  Sure, I wanted to have kids, but I wasn’t in a big hurry to make that commitment.  My wife and I would talk about it, and I’d always say, “Let’s wait another year.”  We’d agree it was best to wait.  We talked again last year, and I used my same old lines of “Well, let’s wait one more year.”  I was told waiting another year was not a good idea this time, so we proceeded on trying.

Last summer (it was July 1), when my wife told me she took a pregnancy test and it had the two bright blue lines, I was shocked.  My initial response probably goes down in history as one of the worst responses a man could give his excited wife as she is waving around a urine soaked stick in your face.  But after a few hours of letting it process, I was excited.

When we found out we were having a little girl, I became terrified.  The toughts of weddings, proms, and teenage boys coming over to the house scares me senseless.

The day our baby was born, I was a nervous wreck.  Even the night of, once all the family had left and the baby was in the nursery down the hall, I just had relief.  The next day, my mother-in-law came to the hospital to stay and I went back to my house to shower and grab a quick nap.  It was on the car ride that afternoon it finally hit me.  And the nervousness and anxiety I had been feeling turned to sheer joy.  And it was unlike any other feeling I had ever experienced.

Everyone told me that having a child was the best thing ever.  Fathers with daughters told me that having a little girl was extra special.  Boys are great, but there is something special about a little girl.  After hearing that so much, I just thought that people said that becuase it was what they were supposed to say.  Well I can sit here and say it is the God’s honest truth.

It is something else seeing this little girl grow up.  She is growing like a weed, and each week it seems like she is doing something else new.

I think these holidays like Mother’s Day, Valentine’s Day and Father’s Day are overblown Hallmark creations.  I told my wife the only thing I wanted for my Father’s Day this year was to play golf with some college buddies yesterday (as an aside-36 holes of golf in one day, the hotest day of the year, isn’t as awesome as it sounds).  I don’t need anything too special becuase every day is Father’s Day.  I don’t need a special present because it arrived on February 6.

Corbindawg

1 Response to “Father’s Day Is Special This Year”


  1. 1 Matthews Dawg June 14, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    I have 2 daughter’s and wouldn’t trade them. It’s great when they crawl up into your lap just to sit with Dad! I do have a son and would not trade him either. After having children, it’s hard for me to understand the people who don’t want them. They can be a challenge at times, but the good out weighs the bad a million to one. Congrats and Happy Father’s Day to all the Dawg Dad’s!


Leave a Reply

