Chip Towers Is Full Of Crap

Chip Towers can sit there with all of his condescending, self rightoues indignation he wants (h/t Tyler).

But he is full of crap. Since no one else in the UGA beat has the balls to say the truth, I guess I will.

Chief Jimmy Williamson is a prick. Simple as that. He might be a fine human being away from work, but the “power of his job” makes him an egotistical jerk. Somewhere, leadership starts at the top. Chief Williamson’s officers are given no leeway and are nothing more than glorified traffic cops with a chip on their shoulder. Ever wonder why they only pull over a speeder or do traffic violations at East Campus Village and on River Road? That is the only place they have jurisdiction. It just so happens you have a lot football players living over there. Funny, you don’t hear often of football players getting arrested for off campus infractions (aside from the usual drunk in public type offenses).

Here are the comments that really get me off in Towers’ article:

I called Chief Williamson Friday evening and asked him about it.

“There are a bunch of good guys over there,” he said of the Bulldogs’ student-athletes. “We have a great program. We don’t have nearly as many problems as we did 10 years ago or so. They’re not trouble-making kids. They’re just like all young people, they make mistakes sometimes. Sometimes they’re not thinking and they find themselves in conflict with the law. When they do, we have our job to do.”

According to the UGA police daily log, another UGA student was stopped on East Campus Road Friday for not wearing their seatbelt. That student, a young woman, was cited for underage possession and also went to jail.

The point being, UGA police weren’t targeting Georgia athletes that day. They were targeting people driving without wearing seatbelts. Last I checked it’s a good idea to wear your seatbelt. And to have a valid driver’s license.

Man, I am so glad that the UGA police department is working hard to protect the campus from students and student athletes not having proper driver’s licenses and seat belt use. That is an excellent use of resources!  It is not just this one offense.  UGA fans don’t complain about the police squad when a player is arrested for weed (JHC), guns (Crowell) and assault (Michael Lemon).  But this petty stuff is what makes us think there is something there, Chip.  I don’t know how you can’t see that.

I’m going to say it, and it might not be a popular place to go, but I’m going there anyway:  Today, I am wearing a crisp, starched white Polo button up shirt and  Ralph Lauren tie. If I get pulled over for not having a valid driver’s license-say I forgot it in my wallet in my other pants, or it had expired and I forgot about it-would I be taken to jail? No. A preppy white boy ain’t going to jail for that. But if a 6’4″, 300 lbs. black teenager is pulled over on campus, they are clearly a football player. And they are getting arrested by Jimmy Williamson’s crack squad for something trivial.  That is not a fair application of the law.

And that young lady, Chip, you refer to who was arrested for underage possession (after a seatbelt violation), her arrest wasn’t put on the AJC for people to see. Not with headlines “Georgia football player won’t be benched for arrest”. That headline not only makes it look like Mark Richt is giving him a slap on the wrist, but it also alludes to an arrest-yes he was arrested-and not simply a traffic violation.

So, yes, it may be a law that says you can go to jail in Georgia if you don’t have a valid driver’s license. How many of us have been pulled over and gotten a warning or a free pass on something that trivial?

How about, Chip Towers, you grow a backbone and not be yes man to the University.

And maybe I’m wrong. Maybe the University doesn’t target student athletes in particular. I think that is a lie, but whatever. Maybe they are all just assholes. No, never mind. No maybe about it. They are assholes regardless. If they are not targeting student athletes (football players), it sure as hell seems that way. Maybe, use a little more discretion next time.  It would certainly help your perception the general public has about you all.

Because, Chief Williamson, you might think you are a hero who is offering an invaluable service to the University community, serving, protecting and all that.  Well, you can rest assured that no else thinks that.  Quite the opposite.

Corbindawg

______________________________________________________________________

Sidenote:

While it is a very small sample size, UGAPD has arrested twelve individuals in the past week, two of which are black.  Of those twelve I’ll let you guess which two did not involve drug possession, disorderly conduct or dui.  The two black men in question were arrested and booked for a seat belt violation and failure to dim headlights.  I’d like to look at these numbers as the summer goes on and see if UGAPD has a trend with these types of arrest.  I know I feel much safer that I won’t be blinded by bright headlights.

Athens-Clarke County Arrest Reports

11 Responses to “Chip Towers Is Full Of Crap”


  1. 1 KershDawg June 11, 2013 at 10:08 am

    GREAT post Corbin. I wish I had a mountain top to yell it from myself.

  2. 2 Gary June 11, 2013 at 10:39 am

    I think a former player must have had relations with Mr Williamsons wife. No other explanation.

  3. 3 202dawg June 11, 2013 at 12:32 pm

    Spot on, brother. Our Football players are guilty of some things, no doubt. But more often than not the offense is DWB (driving while black). It’s a crying shame, in 2013, we have to have these discussions…

  4. 4 Dawg Stephen June 11, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    And imagine how that arrest looks to potential recruits!!! I know if i can get away with weed at Bama or Knoxvegas, or be pulled for driving while black in athens…. its gonna make me look twice.. even if CMR is my DAD i question where im goin

  5. 5 dawgMAW June 11, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    Guys, the ACC police may be targeting football players, but for sure they are targeting all students. Each and every weekend they fill up the jail with underage drinking. Then off to the bail bondsman, then to the lawyer, then to court then to pay a very high fine. I truly do not think they are looking for athletes (although they do seem to relish it), it’s all about the money — revenue for the city / county, revenue for lawyers, revenue for the bail bonds and revenue for the bars. If it is all about protecting the students and university (Michael Adams), fine and close down some of the bars for 6 months for each instance. It would only be a short while till the bars would stop the madness. It will not happen, too much money involved!!!!

  6. 6 Blutarsky June 11, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    Dude, my main man Corbin, understand your upset, but you just went all Ochocinco on the legal system.

    A little respect from you maybe, they’re just doing their job, can’t play favorites, athletes break the law too.

    This isn’t Alabama and Tuscaloosa, might want to find a new team to root for if you expect preferential treatment from campus police..

  7. 7 Corbindawg June 11, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    I am not asking them to play favorites. If athletes (or anyone for that matter) is toting guns, stealing scooter helmets, smoking weed in the dorms, beating folks up, etc…then make arrests.

    But I wish for simple problems like not giving a middle name, not having a driver’s license, or driving a scooter, I’d like to see a little leeway and discretion. If you or I were pulled over and didn’t have our license, would we be taken to jail? I really doubt it.

  8. 8 Charles Swanson June 11, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    Rant on! Don’t let facts get in your way. The campus police have a much wider jurisdiction. If you checked state law you’d know that. But, you didn’t let facts stand in the way. Much of the rest of what you assert rests on very very old stereotypes of the police. Officers have a tough and unpopular job to do and for the most part they are universally well trained and led. Quit infecting the world with your cheap, off- base shots.

    • 9 Corbindawg June 11, 2013 at 3:19 pm

      I drove campus buses for 3 years and am just going off what I have seen and my personal experiences.

      “…universally well trained and led.”

      Agree to disagree…

  9. 10 Whiskeydawg June 11, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    I grew up in Athens during the late 60’s and 70’s. I remember the Athens & UGA police as being easy going with students. One night a friend and I were on Lumpkin, I was driving and he was hanging his ass out the window. We got pulled over. After a good talking to, we were let go. Another time I was pulled over for speeding on campus (about 5 miles above the limit). The UGA cop ran my license, then came back and said since I had a clean record he was letting me off with a warning. I guess those days are gone forever.


  1. 1 Jimmy Williamson Report | The Grit Tree Trackback on June 19, 2013 at 9:35 am

Leave a Reply

