Letter To Isaiah Crowell

Dear Isaiah,

I hope this recent letter finds you doing well.  I heard you rough outing last week against Arkansas-Pine Bluff.  You know, 11 carries for 40 yards isn’t very good.  Just think, a year ago, you had over 100 yards as Georgia beat Mississippi State. 

Anyway, I digress.  I wanted to drop you a note and tell you something:  Thank  you. 

Thank you for being a complete and utter mess up both on and off the field.  Becuase due to your mistakes, this has opened the door for Tood Gurley and Keith Marshall to come and step in.  Needless to say Isaiah, Georgia fans are pleased. 

You see Isaiah, no one person is bigger than any program.  To paraphrase from one of my favorite movies, L.A. Confidental (you’d like it, btw-it is about guns, drugs and hookers): Now, I know you think you’re the A-number one hotshot. Well, here’s the juice: if you get out, there’ll be ten more tailbacks to take your place tomorrow.   

This video is NSF…well, Isaiah, you aren’t working, but I wouldn’t listen to this within earshot of anyone who would get offended.

You were the #1 RB in the entire nation coming out of high school, and yet, Georgia is in a better spot without than with you.  Marshall and Gurley (and let’s not forget about Malcome) are as good-or, better-runners than you, and they don’t pat their helmet after every couple of runs.  In fact, Todd Gurley leads the SEC in rushing yards with very few attempts.

Isaiah, this is not supposed to be a mean letter.  I hope you get your life straightened out.  You are facing some deep trouble back in Athens.  Carrying around a stolen piece?  Come on.  I hope this whole lesson shows you that you are just a football player, and while you have incredible talents, there is nothing special about you.  I know you have been told your entire life you were hot stuff.  I know before you came to Athens, Coach Richt and the fans had appointed you #1.  Yes, you were SEC Freshman of the Year last year.  But Isaiah, you are replaceable.   Not only are you replaceable to the coaching staff as a player, but you have been replaced and forgotten in the hearts and minds of Georgia fans. 

I hope your fall from grace as woken you up and given you a dose of reality.  In case it hasn’t sunk in completely, here is an update from Athens:  we are better off without you. 

Good luck with your future endeavors.

Sincerely,

Corbindawg

21 Responses to “Letter To Isaiah Crowell”


  1. 1 Brian Davis September 24, 2012 at 11:57 am

    What’s the point of that?…Make you feel better to kick an 19 year old while he’s down? He probably doesn’t read your blog for life lessons.

    • 2 Corbindawg September 24, 2012 at 12:04 pm

      It was more theraputic than anything.

      And if he did read our blog for life lessons, he might would be the featured back of the #5 team in the country. Instead, he is struggling to see the field at a FCS school and facing a felony conviction.

  2. 3 Dog in SC September 24, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    I am with Brian- whats the point? You are simply stating the obvious. I usually enjoy reading your blog but this is drivel.

  3. 4 dkersey3@hotmail.com September 24, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    Why do you care what Crowell is doing? At least he is not sitting around writing pathetic little blog posts about a 19 yo. kid. Talking about a loser…Get a life man!

  4. 6 Lee Turner September 24, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    @Ucheedawg the guy obviously likes the blog he wouldn’t visit unless he’s clicking random dawgbone links, its this single post that he is referring to as pathetic, the writer has his write to post it and fans of his blog have a right to express their feelings.

    I agree with others that this post is a bit too over the top. I’ve never been a fan of crowell, the guy demonstrated on game day he didn’t have the toughness or work ethic to stay in this league, but posts like this, posts that get circulated on great sites like dawgbone make me a bit queasy. Its like rubbing salt in the wound for the sake of just being cruel. The kid is learning the tough lessons of living the lifestyle he’s lived and he has earned a lot of criticism, but the opening paragraphs go beyond that. Its like stuffing opponents head in the sand after knockin’ him down

    It’s your blog but I doubt you would ever knock on Crowell’s door and deliver that opening thank you to him in person, and if you hand delivered a letter and walked away I’m guessing the only name he’d find on that letter was “CorbinDawg”

  5. 7 greg September 24, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    this is one of those better thought than typed. you just made yourself look vindictive and obsessive. I AM SORRY I READ THIS I NEED A BATH

  6. 8 hesgoneletsdropit September 24, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    Put me in the category of folks that don’t understand today’s blog. There was a separation and it was the best for both parties. I hope I.C. gets his life together and has a great career. I hope UGA wins the SEC Championship. I don’t find this particular post indicative of the material I’ve found here and will continue to read your very enjoyable blog. My wish for you is when you are generating material for this blog, you remember that it is a product and readers always have a choice.

  7. 9 Corbindawg September 24, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    True or false: UGA has a better RB situation now without Crowell.
    True or false: It is a good thing Crowell is no longer part of this team.
    True or false: If Crowell is stupid enough to piss his opportunity away, there are several backs waiting to take his place here.
    True or false: The #1 ranked RB out of HS getting 40 yards on 11 carries against anyone is not very good.

    I could have stated al the facts listed above and listed above in the post in a boring, blah kind of way. I chose to be creative. Sorry if it offends you, but if you can’t take the truth, then so be it. I wasn’t piling on a kid, I was simply stating the obvious. If anyone out there does not think that UGA is in a better situation with our RBs than a year ago, then you must not have watched the games last year.

    And yes, I might be a loser about writing a blog about 19 year olds, but you are a loser for reading a blog about 19 year olds and commenting on it. Any UGA sports blog is about, yep, 19 year olds.

    Unfortunately, we can’t tell the story about Gurley and Marshall’s rise to success without talking about Crowell’s failure. just like we couldn’t fully tell the story about Crowell’s stardom last year without talking about Ealey or King. It is, what it is.

  8. 10 Ben Dukes September 24, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    Class A Douchebag move here.

  9. 11 Dawg19 September 24, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    People pile on Bradley and Schultz, too, but they keep reading. Your stuff is good. Every now and then you’re going to piss people off. It’s your blog…nobody is forced to read it.

    • 12 Corbindawg September 24, 2012 at 3:48 pm

      Comparing me to Bradley and Schultz? Ouch, now that hurts. Talk about kicking a man while he is down.

      But yes, I don’t care if I piss people off as long as I speak the truth. People piled it on me when I praised Bobo and Murray back in the winter, and look where we are today.

  10. 13 Max Henshaw (@Maxrickhen) September 24, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    I donno about all this, I mean sure he made a mistake and I’m sure he regrets every move he made but kicking him while he’s down? classy.

  11. 14 Rick Nelson September 24, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Great Post!!……facts are facts and the reality of it is, 19 year olds are adults, still maybe learning, but none-the-less, adults. I too hope IC gets his act together. C.dawg, sorry someone put you in company with those hacks from the AJC…..By the by, i’m 53 and enjoy reading all the blogs!

  12. 15 Dawg September 24, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    This was weak. Of course its true but that doesnt mean you have to write about it, again. I am sick of hearing Crowells name; he made a mistake, hes gone, forget about it. Oh yeah, and the phrase, “it is what it is” is the most overused, pointless phrase in history.

  13. 16 Dawg19 September 24, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    I didn’t write that he was like the hacks at the AJC. My point was that A LOT of you guys bang on Bradley and Schultz every day yet you keep reading their stuff despite the fact that you guys claim they are hacks. Besides, I wrote that Corbin’s stuff is good.

  14. 18 Jd September 24, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    How about wishing a kid who made mistakes the best? This is tacky and hateful. I cheer for those who are down, not take pleasure in their fall. Shame on you.

    • 19 marbleminer September 24, 2012 at 8:58 pm

      I hope none of you who are bashing corbin for being “tacky and hateful” are part of the crowd who boo at games, curse Bobo for calling a draw on 3rd and long, or got mad at our freshman place kicker for missing a PAT. I have seen some vicious stuff on message boards and blogs coming from Dawg fans that has embarrassed me. This post is not that bad; he even says he hopes IC gets it together. I’m a little suprised at some of the comments on here. I’ve read his stuff, and Corbin appears to be the most loyal Dawg in the world. The support for IC here is stunning, especially in light of the way he treated Our Dawg Nation. I’m a devout Christian and don’t believe in kicking a man while he’s down, but I sense some hypocritical comments on here. Some of you have probably posted some pretty dumb comments about members of the team and/or coaching staff. Just looks like a pack mentality going on here to me. Keep on keepin’ on corbin.

  15. 20 Signal Mtn Dawg September 25, 2012 at 12:16 am

    What a horrible blog. I am rooting that Isaiah matures and has great success in life. There was a lot of weight on that kids shoulders ….. just too much for a 18 year old. Gurley and Marshall have each other and Boo Malcome as well – a totally different scenerio than Crowell had. Just a tacky blog and pretty disgusting. Skipping this blog moving forward.

  16. 21 hesgoneletsdropit September 25, 2012 at 9:23 am

    You’re right. It is your blog.

    “Good luck with your future endeavors.”


Leave a Reply

