Phil Said It

Below are musings from my favorite stats guy, and probably yours, Phil Steele.

Football fans around the globe lost a ‘hero’ this week in Steve Sabol who died of brain cancer on Tuesday. Like so many others that grew up in my generation, one of my favorite moments of my childhood was watching NFL Films and then going outside to play football with my brother in the backyard recreating what we just watched. Sabol and his father Ed, who put together such great quality films, along with the voice of John Facenda narrating the action was one of the main reasons why I fell in love with this sport so many years ago. It is a very sad week for me personally as I think we all can agree that the NFL lost one its most influential people.

Last year coming into the season I rated Georgia as my #1 special teams unit in the entire country due in large part to their K Blair Walsh who I put on my All-American team. In his three previous seasons with the Bulldogs, Walsh had connected on 55 of his 68 career FG attempts (81%) so it was shocking to me that he would go on to miss FOURTEEN FG’s last year connecting on just 60% of his attempts which cost them in two of their four losses. Now this year, Walsh is kicking for the Minnesota Vikings and I have read several articles talking about how Walsh is one of the greatest kickers they have ever seen. He has already hit on all six of his attempts so far including two from 50-plus so the question I have to ask a long with all other Bulldog fans….what the heck happened to Blair Walsh last year!!??!!

Valid question, but no sense looking back now. Big game tomorrow, Go Dawgs!

ucheedawg

2 Responses to “Phil Said It”


  1. 1 DE September 21, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    UGA needs a full time special teams coach. What you do is put the WR coach in charge of WR/TE’s, fire the TE coach, and hire a full time special teams coach.

    Or at the very least, put the tight ends coach in charge of special teams, heck, the te’s at UGA have only caught 4 balls all season, give the TE coach something else to do.

  2. 2 Bharrison0311 September 22, 2012 at 12:57 am

    The Vikings somewhere had a piece that pretty much said all they did was work with Walsh a small amount, and he was just fine. Walsh comes out like gold getting to kick half his games, at least, indoors


Leave a Reply

