Ahead of the Curve

I am always thought of myself as someone who was ahead of the curve.  I saw on Bernie’s site that the Redcoats are asking fans to sing along with Georgia’s true fight song, “Hail to Georgia.”

Well, friends, this is not new to me or the people that sat in our section 113 from around 2005-2009.  You see, a friend and I have sang these lyrics since sometime during the 2005 season.  It has been my goal to teach others the lyrics as well, so everytime the Dawgs score, we can all sing along.  

Sometimes, tough love was in order.   On the way to Columbia for the South Carolina game in 2006, I taught our friend Granite the words.  I rolled up the unused sections of the Athens Banner Herald (who cares about news when there is the Gameday edition), and we went over the song.  Again.  And Again.  Each time Granite messed up, he got plunked on the head.  That certainly made the first leg of the trip from Athens to I-20 through Lexington more enjoyable. 

You may disagree with my meathods and call my cruel.  But Granite still knows the words to this day, so tell me physical punishment doesn’t work!

My junior year (also the 2006 season), I was president of a club and at the first meeting of the year, we had  a UGA spirit class for the new freshmen.   I included the words to “Hail to Georgia.” 

Obviously, I think this is an excellent idea.  It is fun song.  Learn the words.  If not, I will have my newspaper waiting for you. 

Hail to Georgia down in Dixie, A college honored fair and true

The Red and Black Is her standard, proudly it waves,

Streaming today and the ages through

She’s the fairest of the Southland

We’ll pledge our love to her for aye

To our college dear we’ll ring a cheer

All hail to dear ole UGA.

Corbindawg

2 Responses to “Ahead of the Curve”


  1. 1 Rudy Quillian August 20, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    My wife got onto me about this comment but I stick to it. The words are very awkard and the phrasing out of date. A clever wordsmith like you should rewrite the lyrics. I doubt the vast majority of us would ever know the difference in the old phrases and the modern ones.


Leave a Reply

