Pour One Out For Peaches Fine Foods

I was alerted yesterday that my favorite Soul Food place in Athens, Peaches, will close its doors for the last time on Friday. 

Weaver D’s has tradition.  Food for the Soul was an all-you-can-eat buffet.  5 Star Day was not all that great to me.  But Peaches had the quality.  It was the best.

Fridays were the best days to eat at Peaches.  They had “Seafood Friday”, and the Cajun fried shrimp was a great treat.

I don’t live in Athens anymore, but if I did, I would eat at Peaches today or tomorrow, one last time.  If you live in Athens, I urge you to go by there and enjoy a fried pork chop or the fried shrimp and mac and cheese for me.  Take a little longer lunch break if necessary. 

Because it is worth it.

Godspeed.

Corbindawg

2 Responses to “Pour One Out For Peaches Fine Foods”


  1. 1 Tim (Watkinsville) July 26, 2012 at 9:35 am

    This is a damned shame. Peaches had the best catfish filets on Friday. I would always get the catfish, mac and cheese, blackeyed peas, and a piece of fatback. They will be sorely missed.

  2. 2 ward August 1, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    Food for the Soul is still my favorite food in town.


Leave a Reply

