BBQ Thursday: Smok’n Pig (Macon)

A Smok’n Pig location has recently opened up inside the old Macon Mall.  I have had friends from Valdosta tell me abou the original, so my wife and I decided to strap on our bullet proof vests, head to the Macon Mall, and try this new BBQ place. 

Macon has a lot of very good ‘cue.  Fresh Air, Satterfields, Fincher’s and near by Old Clinton are all as good as anywhere you’ll find in Georgia.  Even Georgia Bob’s, which I don’t care for, has a loyal fan base. 

Smok’n Pig does not rank up there.  The ribs were very good, but other wise, it was very, very mediocre.  The meat was dry, and with the bland sauces and all-you-can-eat salad bar and dessert bar, it reminded me very much of Sonny’s. 

I should stop there.  If you can’t say anything nice, you don’t say anything at all. 

 

 

 

 

Corbindawg

7 Responses to “BBQ Thursday: Smok’n Pig (Macon)”


  1. 1 calder April 26, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Thanks for the heads up…was gonna try it now I will keep the vest and gat in the closet and go some where else

  2. 2 Dawg19 April 26, 2012 at 11:51 am

    This is absolutely correct…especially the “bullet-proof vests” line.

    Well played.

    Ever since the gang war that erupted in the food court a couple of years ago, I don’t go near that place.

    Finchers is the best, in my opinion, but you named some good ones.

  3. 3 FourBoysBrewPub April 26, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    Great, now you got BBQ on my mind, guess I’ll have to stroll on over to Fresh Air for lunch today.

  4. 4 Mike April 26, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Everybody’s got their own tongue I guess. My 60 year old Macon tongue tells me J L’s is the best in Macon. Fresh Air would get my second place vote. Haven’t tried Macon’s Smokin Pig yet, but the one in Valdosta was good, maybe a little better than Georgia Bob’s. Fincher’s is past it prime I’m afraid….used to love it!!

  5. 5 eastbamadawg April 27, 2012 at 7:43 am

    All Macon BBQ (while good…in its own way (vinegar sauce)) pales in comparison to Columbus/Phenix City BBQ. I can think of 6 places in Columbus, better than Fresh Air. In no particular order, 13th Street, Smokey Pig, Macon Rd., Brennan Rd., Chesters, and Clearview.

  6. 6 Joe April 27, 2012 at 10:31 am

    It is kind of ironic that your Valdosta friends recommended the Smok’n Pig yet it turned out to be a disappointment. They probably found the place to be nice but I guess they just have a different taste. Anyway, thanks for the information, it is always good to know which places to avoid when planning to eat away from home.

  7. 7 Raven May 3, 2012 at 10:08 am

    Everybody grow up and atleast act like you have some sense! Yall are judging the mall because what happen YEARS AGO??? Alot done changed since then even one of those boys are dead but thats not the point..they have tighten up with security, and actually the food is very good! All Im saying is dnt judge a book by its cover you might just like it…


Leave a Reply

