BBQ Thursday-Sconyers BBQ in Augusta

Had the fortune of spending the night in Augusta couple of weeks ago.  Our friends at fellow blogs EC Dawg and CC Rider have told us to give them a call when we head to Augusta, and if they read this, I apologize.  My work doesn’t take me over to Augusta often, and I was going over there unexpectedly.  So next time I am in the Richmond County area, I will be sure to give you proper notice.

I had to be in Lavonia one day, and Augusta the next, so I decided to travel down Hwy 77 and just stay in Augusta the night before instead of driving to Middle GA and back to Augusta.  One reason I don’t go over to Augusta much is there is just no good way to get there from Macon. 

I got done with my work in Lavonia around 2:00 and decided to hit some golf balls at Cateeche in Hartwell.  I am not very good at golf, although I enjoy playing.  I am terrible.  I was especially terrible in Hart County.  By the Par 3on either 16 or 17 there I calmed down and hit a beautiful shot with my 6 iron off the tee and missed a 5 foot putt for birdie and had to settle for my lone Par of the day.  And I crushed my next drive, so I guess there were some positives to take home from it.   The course was in great shape for late Winter/Early Spring and it was very nice, and aside from the crappy play, I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

I headed on to August and I knew I wanted some BBQ.  I Googled BBQ in August and the first place that came up was Sconyers BBQ.  I wanted some of the famous South Carolina Hash.

So I put Sconyers in the GPS, listened some Pat Green and Robert Earl Keen, and I was on my way.

I didn’t know what to expect when I reached Sconyers and pulled up around 8:00 PM and the restaurant parking lot was packed.  I went in and got a table.  I hadn’t really eaten lunch that day, and since a biscuit that morning had only had a pack of crackers at the golf course.  So I was starving, but since it was late, I decided not to order much so I just got the half BBQ plate.  It came with two sides-I got the hash and potato salad. 

The waitresses all wore these UGLY uniforms.  Their dresses looked like something you’d find on Little House on the Prairie.  I thought “Oh Boy.”  I wanted to snatch a picture of them, but those that know me know that discreet is not a word in my vocabulary.  So not risking get beat up by a gang of waitresses and going hungry, I decided not to snatch a pic.   A very friendly waitress took my order and brought me a small pitcher of sweet tea and a basket of white bread.  I liked that.  Some folks think there is not a thing as too sweet tea, and Sconyers definitely fits in that group.  The tea was very sweet.  It reminded me of Grandma’s tea.  I had to let the ice melt some to dilute it. 

Before I could get settled down very good my order was brought out very quickly.  I was impressed by that.  The BBQ was really good.  I wish I had ordered a full order of it.  There were some sauces on the table that were very good also.  I would grade the ‘cue with an A.

Onto the sides.  I was not overly impressed with the potato salad.  It had too much mayonnaise for my liking.  It was OK, just not my personal preference.  I like a little squirt of mustard in my potato salad, and this was full of mayonnaise. 

The hash.  For those of you that have not had hash, it is like a BBQ paste served over rice.  It doesn’t have the corn or lima beans that is typical in Brunswick Stew, and it wasn’t as soupy as stew.  They serve the hash over rice.  The rice was good, but it just fills you up too much and you feel bloated.  The hash tasted good, but I would much prefer Brunswick Stew.  It was my first experience with the famous South Carolina hash, and if given my druthers, I would rather have stew over hash.  It is definitely worth trying if you have never had it. 

Overall, it was a good BBQ experience and if you are every in the Augusta area, I would recommend you stop by Sconyers (off I-520) and give it a try.

The only thing that didn’t help my meal were my fellow patrons sitting across from me.  There were two couples talking.  They were Georgia Tech fans.  The whole time I ate, I had to sit there and listen to how great Georgia Tech is and how much they are going to be better next season.  One couple at the table struck me as odd.  The fellow and his wife were an odd combination.  The wife was  a fairly attractive lady in her late 20s.  But her husband was a character.  He was about 6’3” and probably weighed 140 lbs.  He wore Khaki pants and black turtleneck..  Yep, a turtleneck.  He was pale skinned and had a blonde curly hair. 

Do you know who this guy could have been twins with?  For you Seinfield fans out there, remember the episode where Elaine is dating a guy, and he thinks she is Hispanic and she thinks he is black? At the end of the episode they realize they were just a couple of white people and go to the Gap. This guy looked exactly like Elaine’s date in that episode. 

So aside from the loud Tech fans talking about their football team, Sconyers was an enjoyable experience.

I started my day at 5:00 AM that day, and by the time I got to my hotel and ironed my clothes for the next day, I was wiped.  I watched UGA take Mississippi State to the woodshed in the SEC tournament, and with a belly full of BBQ, I fell into a peaceful smoked pork induced coma with the TV on sometime in the 2nd half. 

Corbindawg

4 Responses to “BBQ Thursday-Sconyers BBQ in Augusta”


  1. 1 Leather Helmet Blog (@ecdawg_LHB) March 22, 2012 at 11:20 am

    Next time be sure to call.

    The BBQ hash/Brunswick stew cut-off is fairly near Augusta. In adjoining Columbia County the product, if made by natives (who are rare), is called hash but has the corn and tomatoes.
    I grew up about 40 miles west of Augusta where the normal side was traditional Brunswick stew. The further from the river the better the hash/stew.

  2. 2 Skip Smith (@WCSmithIV) March 22, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Can’t argue with ecdawg bout stew over hash. Stew hands down. That said the chicken mull up Athens way is awesome. Wish I had known you were coming to Augusta. Would have sent you across the river to Freeman’s BBQ. It’s a shack not a resturant but the Q is very good.

    • 3 Corbindawg March 22, 2012 at 3:13 pm

      I have had Chicken Mull in Watkinsville. Have a friend that can make it. Get some saltine crackers and UM UM that stuff is GOOD!

  3. 4 Ben March 22, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    Should have stopped in Royston at Harts and had a BBQ chicken for lunch. It is to die for.


Leave a Reply

