Re-evaluating the Temprature of Richt’s Hot Seat

I never put much stock in the “hot seat” talk prior to the season becuase I thought that we’d rebound good enough from a losing season in 2010 to put the matter to bed.

Well, after a pitiful performance in the Georgia Dome (I mean awful!) and yet another close loss, this one against South Carolina, the worst case scenario that this UGA fan thought was near a 0% possibility was reality. 

The way the team played on September 3rd, I was afraid that Rodney Garner would be leading the team on the field at Jacksonville.  But give Coach Richt and his staff credit, no one panicked.  The team has benefitted from its easy schedule and has rattled off 5 straight wins, its longest streak since winning 11 in a row from 2007-2008. 

Sure Ole Miss and Mississppi State are not Alabama and LSU, but the Dawgs have gotten better passing the eyeball test and have taken advantage of their opportunity.  If you had told me prior to the season that the Dawgs would be 5-2 heading into Jacksonville with a chance to all but clinch the SEC East with a win, I would have taken it in a heart beat.  You would also, don’t lie to yourself. 

But if the Dawgs do what they have done 3/21 years Saturday and  lose, then the hot seat talk heats back up again.  After the Tennessee game, and the 100th victory, Coach Richt turned the burner down to simmer.  It will get cranked up full blast again with a loss.

But I don’t think a loss to Florida sends Richt packing after this sesaon.  Sure, it would SUCK BIG TIME if we lose Saturday, but if Georgia finishes 9-3 and plays on a January 2nd Bowl and has a chance for 10 wins, there is no reason that Richt should be fired.  We have 3 losable games, 5 winable ones left.  If we go 9-3 and go 2-1 against Florida, Auburn and Tech, I just can’t see Richt getting fired, no matter how bad it would feel to lose to one of those teams.   I even think Richt would be in more trouble with a loss to Tech than a loss to Florida.

Now going 8-4 is tricky.  I am chalking up New Mexico State and Kentucky as wins.  Going 8-4 would require going 1-2 against Tech, Auburn and Florida.  Those are your 3 biggest rivals, and in a rebound year you don’t go 8-4 and you don’t have a losing record against your 3 most important rivalry games.   I think 8-4 Greg McGarity has a decision he has to make, and it will be a hard decision.  On one hand, you have shown progress in Year 2 of the defense and have a lot of youth on the team, and 2012 shapes up to be a good season with another favorable schedule and nearly all the talent returning.  On the other hand, you still suck.  I think 8-4 will have to be McGarity’s decision, and I have complete faith and trust in Greg McGarity making the right call.   I would lean towards a new coach in 2012 if 8-4 is the case, but it depends.

If we get swept by Auburn, Tech and Florida to finish 7-5, that would be a complete impolosion and Richt and company should not be back in 2o12. 

As I said before the season started, I didn’t need a win number to satisfy me, or a mandate of “you have to beat teams X, Y, and Z”, but I wanted to see progress and have a feeling of optimism heading into 2012.  9-3 with a chance for 10 wins would satsify that.  Nothing else would.   I really don’t think this hot seat mess is all that complicated.  Go out and take care of business, we are all good.  Go out and wet the bed down the stretch, we are not good.   The pundits can try to make it a big story, but I think it is pretty simple.

Corbindawg

5 Responses to “Re-evaluating the Temprature of Richt’s Hot Seat”


  1. 1 Orl Dawg October 26, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    If the Dawgs get blown out by any of the 3 rivals left on the schedule, I think the staff should go. While all 3 are rivals, I don’t see any of them as elite. So, we should be close in all 3 games. Actually, we should run the table the rest of the way.

  2. 2 FanSince59 October 26, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    There are always the same old excuses as to why Richt sould be kept around….young team, injuries, improved defense(see Vanderbilt), blah, blah, blah. If Richt does make it to the SEC Championship game, then it ain’t going to be pretty, and you can guess who it ain’t going to be pretty for.

  3. 3 fishook dawg October 26, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    I believe CMR has put all his eggs in one basket with Murray. How goes Murray will say whether or not CMR stays. I don’t believe Murray could do anything on the field that could get him benched. I believe that Murray is the only player on the team that does not have to compete for a starting job each week. Murray has been here 3 years and has yet to win a game of importance. Unless CMR starts holding Murray responsible for his screw ups, CMR will leave before Murray.

  4. 4 dawgfan17 October 27, 2011 at 1:07 am

    http://www.cfbstats.com/2011/leader/911/player/split01/category02/sort01.html

    Check out the stats on Murray and guess why he is starting. Yes he has not had a big win but last year that was primarily on the defense (exception the UF and UCF games though the second half of the UF game was about as good as any qb could have played). This year 1 of the 2 losses are on him for the turnovers, though with a little blocking I doubt he has that many turnovers.

  5. 5 paul October 27, 2011 at 8:48 am

    I love Mark Richt. I would like him to be our coach for many years to come. However, I do not think it is likely he will be in Athens next year if we lose to Florida this week. I hate that. But I think it’s true. I hope I am wrong.


Leave a Reply

