Gamecocks Win the CWS

South Carolina swept UCLA on Tuesday night to win its first major baseball title in the program’s history. Whit Merriman hit a one out single in the bottom of the 11th to score Scott Wingo as the Gamecocks swept UCLA in the last game played at historic Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha.

Wingo drew a leadoff walk and advanced to 2nd on a wild pitch. He moved to 2nd on a sacrifice bunt by Evan Marzilli. With a runner at third and one out UCLA surprisingly refused to walk Merrifield and cleanup hitter Jackie Bradley Jr. in order to set up the force at every base. Nevertheless, the Gamecocks earned this national title after losing their first game to Oklahoma. South Carolina then won six straight including knocked off instate rival Clemson along the way.

South Carolina’s win continues the domination of the SEC in intercollegiate athletics.  However, it does leave UGA in some bad company.  UGA now joins the Vanderbilt Commodores as the only team in the SEC East not to win a national title in the big 3 sports since the conference expanded.


0 Responses to “Gamecocks Win the CWS”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: