Joe Cox-Hutson Mason: Too Soon?

I recently took a trip overseas to India. It was an awesome experience, and while I was glad I went, I don’t have ANY desire to go back and was very glad to come home.

I won’t get too much into my trip, but one thing from India is the food is all the same. For the duration of my trip, I had basically the same food every day, 3 meals a day (except the one night where we found a Pizza Hut, and I thought I was in heaven).  Heavy doses of Naan Bread, lentils, and Kingfisher Beer. The Kingfisher wasn’t all bad.

I like Indian food every now and then. Like, once every couple of years. Needless to say, I’ve had my fill for the next decade.

Our weekly ritual is going to Barberitos on Sunday nights. The little girl especially likes it. We went a couple of weeks back, after my return stateside, and ordered her a cheese quesadilla with black beans. She wasn’t eating it, so I reached over and grabbed a triangle to take a bite. The texture of the loose tortilla and the cheese along with the black beans tasted just like Naan Bread and Lentils. Before I could finish chewing, I had a shiver of fear run up my spine. The hair on the back of my neck stood up. Instinctively, I grabbed a napkin and spit it out.

“What is wrong?” my wife asked.

“Too much like Naan Bread and lentils. Couldn’t do it. Too soon,” I replied as I reached for my tea to wash the taste out.

You may laugh, but go to India and you’ll understand.

I say all that to say I had a similar moment in regards to Georgia Football. I saw a picture of Hutson Mason from a game. For a fleeting moment, I had visions of Joe Cox. The skinny guy wearing #14 throwing a “catchable” ball. I recoiled in horror with visions of Joe Cox throwing another interception or fumbling yet again.

It was too soon to see that.

My fear is that Hutson Mason will be Joe Cox 2.0.

To be fair, Joe Cox did have some good moments. The 4th quarter of the Colorado game in 2006 was mighty exciting.  In 2009 he threw a lot of touchdowns. 24, or third most in the SEC that season. But he also had 15 very bad moments, which were the 15 interceptions, or second most in the SEC.  The ineptitude vs. Kentucky in 2009 was pretty bad.

Now, I don’t think Mason will be like Joe Cox for three reasons. Todd. Gurley. II. And two more: Keith. Marshall.

The running game in 2009 was inconsistent at best.  And the rest of the skill talent at that time on offense was subpar compared to what we have in Athens this year (A.J. Green obviously excluded). The defense was pretty bad, too. It was poorly coached and didn’t have much talent. At least this bunch will have talent.

We saw some good moments from Mason last season, but we also saw some good moments from Joe Cox before he became the starter. I keep going back to the point that I think Cox tried to do too much too often, becuase he looked around  and didn’t see much else.

Hopefully, Mason will recognize the talent he has around him, and won’t try to be the superhero.

I’m just glad Mason isn’t a Ginger, otherwise I might be in full on anxiety mode.

Corbindawg

14 Responses to “Joe Cox-Hutson Mason: Too Soon?”


  1. 1 J.shane August 22, 2014 at 8:38 am

    Lesson here is… Don’t go to India!

  2. 2 Vans August 22, 2014 at 10:48 am

    The 2009 and 2014 teams were pretty similar. 2009 was better.

    Top 3 Running backs:
    Gurley 5.99 ypc–Ealey 5.74 ypc
    Marshall 4.4 ypc–Samuel 4.5 ypc
    Michel or Chubbs?–King 5.4 ypc

    Top 3 Receivers:
    Conley 15 yards per catch–King 21 ypc
    Bennett 13 ypc–Green 15 ypc
    Rome 11 ypc–Charles 16 ypc

    Both quarterbacks were 5th Year Srs with very little starting experience.

    • 3 Corbindawg August 22, 2014 at 12:50 pm

      While the YPC and total YPG numbers are similar from 2013 and 2009, I think we can agree the consistency was not there at all with Ealey and King. Too many fumbles and bad plays.

      • 4 Vans August 22, 2014 at 2:27 pm

        B Douglas 2 fumbles cost us a couple of games, he’s scary when called on. Qb had a lot of untimely sacks and interceptions, Mason seems to continue that tradition–as Mason got sacked a lot in his limited time as a starter and threw 3 interceptions last season in very limited action.

        And we still have no special teams coach.

        And our secondary is super inexperienced.

        Overall, 2009 team was far better than the 2014 team. I fear the record will show that at the end of the year, I don’t see us beating Clemson, SC, Auburn, Mizzou and another loss to either Fla/GT/TN, looking at 7-5, hopefully I’m wrong.

  3. 5 Vans August 22, 2014 at 10:55 am

    2014 team seems a bit snake bitten for the injuries–you agree?

    At rb:
    Gurley and Marshall both missed significant games

    At WR:
    Rome, Bennett, Mitchell and Wesley are all pretty gimpy right now

  4. 6 Korndawg August 22, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    I’m not sure why Joe takes so much heat. You essentially stated that Joe’s performance was a result of his supporting cast. That doesn’t necessarily warrant derogatory comments about the young man. It’s fine to be disappointed with the 2009 season, but it’s difficult to understand why you felt compelled to specifically call him out. According to you Joe was a product of a lack luster team – why the hate?

  5. 8 Ray August 22, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    Pretty much sums my thoughts on this year’s team. It’s hard for me to get too excited because the season already seems lost. Mason loves UGA and has worked hard to earn the position. But, his lack of arm strength is obvious and will hurt us several times during the course of the season. It’s amazing that we have three other QBs on the roster and none of them have been given a chance to earn the position. I realize that Mason understands the playbook but Bobo’s playbook is going to be trimmed anyway due to Mason;s arm strength.

    I’m no football coach and I understand the psychology behind rotting for the backup. But, shouldn’t the more talented QB play; especially considering that all other QBs have years in front of them?

    • 9 Vans August 22, 2014 at 2:30 pm

      It’s not just arm strength, it’s lack of poise, inexperience, and lack of mobility in the pocket. A lot of reasons why Mason will struggle.

    • 10 Vans August 22, 2014 at 4:31 pm

      Ray,

      You got a point.

      Faton Bauta has put up the same numbers as Hutson Mason in the scrimmages.

      But, throws less interceptions, is very tough to sack.

      Biggest plus of Bauta gives you the opportunity to have a running quarterback that worked so well for Auburn in 2010/2013 and Meyer with Tebow and Spurrier with Shaw.

      And yes, you get your 2015 qb some invaluable experience, rather than being right back at square one in 2015, a qb with practically no experience.

  6. 11 Vans August 22, 2014 at 2:31 pm

    Due to injuries, I doubt Mason will ever have all his wr\te’s.

  7. 12 Dukes August 22, 2014 at 7:39 pm

    A lot of people here talking a lot of shit about a team that hasn’t played a football game.

    I’ll say this – for the years after their freshman year, not one time did anyone say Cox should be the quarterback over Stafford.

    Murray’s entire career was coupled with the thought that Mason should be starting. Now, standing at the precipice of a new season, people already want Mason to exit?

    Georgia fans are fickle as shit. We rattle off 5 wins to open the season, and Vans will be talking about how Mason is the best QB ever to wear 14 (after having immediately forgotten about DG).

  8. 13 TXBaller August 22, 2014 at 11:28 pm

    Murray 41 picks in career – 3rd most in GA history. Mason will be fine – he not psycho like #11 – steady, consistent & non-emo. Relax haters – we have a SEC championship caliber QB at the helm.

  9. 14 TXBaller August 22, 2014 at 11:31 pm

    Arm strength = picks, fumbles & losses to top 25 teams. Chill….. the truth cometh!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 943 other followers

