Can We Please Just Let It Go?

This may be sour grapes over the SEC Championship game loss. It may be me being a curmudgeon. It could be I haven’t gotten in the Christmas spirit because of the near 80 degree temps we’ve been having. But I have a complaint.

No, it isn’t one of my usual rants about that ass clown Bill Shanks.

Why are Georgia fans stuck in 1980? I mean at this point it is embarrassing. Go look on your bookshelf at your home or office and count how many UGA football books you have relating to Herschel Walker, Vince Dooley or the 1980 season. I mean in the last few years books like Belue to Scott, Vince Dooley’s Tales From the 1980 Georgia Bulldogs, and Then Vince Said to Herschel have come out. There are many others. Now a DVD is coming out for the holidays called 1980 Dawgs.

I know it’s been a while since Georgia has won a National Championship. We all are hungry for one. But why are fans constantly living in the past? Haven’t there been enough good memories in the last 12 years where we don’t have to keep looking to the past? I don’t blame the folks who put this material out. It’s basic capitalism. UGA fans have proven if they put this stuff out, it will be purchased and celebrated.

Let’s stop celebrating something that happened 30 years ago. Instead of constantly bitching about the current team and coaches, let’s rally around the present and the prepare for the glorious future.

Jimmy Buffett said it best: Oh, yesterdays over my shoulder, So I can’t look back for too long
There’s just too much to see waiting in front of me, and I know that I can’t go wrong.

And from F. Scott Fitzgerald : So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.

Corbindawg

5 Responses to “Can We Please Just Let It Go?”


  1. 1 dawgfan336 December 14, 2012 at 8:45 am

    Well said.

  2. 2 Bright Idea December 14, 2012 at 10:44 am

    I agree and it is time to forget about the SC and Bama losses too.

  3. 3 Slaw Dawg December 14, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    As one of those who was actually in school in those often remember glory days (class of ’82), not only do I agree with you wholeheartedly, I’ve thought the same thing for years. I love Herschel, Buck, Lindsay, Vince and Erk to death, but I folks weren’t going on and on about Sinkwich, Trippi and “Racehorse” Haynes in the 70’s (30 years after they played, won a couple of conference titles, a Heisman and a natty).

  4. 4 Mike Moss December 20, 2012 at 11:09 am

    I respectfully disagree. My partner, Lenny Daniel, and I put a sizable investment of time and dollars into the “1980 Dawgs” DVD project. We probably won’t break even and never really expected to. We felt this was a project that just needed to be done. There is a big difference, in our opinion, in “living in the past” vs “remembering the past”. This history from the players and coaches has not ever been captured well in a way that it deserves. Our goal was to capture it while the guys on that team were still young enough to remember it, so future generations of Bulldogs could remember and learn from it. The stories are heartwarming and inspiring. The truths are timeless. In many ways it, it’s a lesson plan on how to win a National Championship or even succeed in life.

  5. 5 Just wondering December 29, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    Jimmy Buffett said it best? What a douche bag.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 951 other followers

