If I Were Mark Richt, I’d Just Quit

You know, I wish UGA would just win a National Title and be done with it.  Not for any personal satisifaction…for purely unselfish reasons.  I want the Dawgs to win so everyone will STFU about Mark Richt and his “desire” to win the big one.

I am squarely in the “pro-Richt” camp.  Now, my faith has been tested and I have been close to packing up my tent and going to the other side.  Even as recently as few weeks ago, I was beginning to have internal thoughts about better accomodations.   I do recognize the problems within our beloved program.  There are several people who have problems and I agreed with a lot of them; but I also think Richt has addressed these problems and has things going in the right direction once again. 

It is articles like the one the Senator linked to that really gets off with me.   Can Mark Richt not win the big one becuase he is a good Christian man/has good morals?  Now, I am not one of those people who thinks we should keep him around just becuase of his strong faith.  I could give two monkey craps if Mark Richt was Southern Baptist or if he worshiped pigeons.  I want a coach that will be a consistent, steady winner.

Becuase I recongnize that it does take a little bit of luck to win a National Championship in College Football, and UGA has had the misfortune of being unlucky at times (and pissing it away other times).

Humor me for a moment and play a game.  Which of the following teams are more deserving to play for a BCS National Championship?

Team A: Beat teams who had a combined record of 78-62 before the bowl game, had one loss to a 8-5 team by 7 points.  Beat 4 teams who finished in AP top 25. 
 
Team B:  Beat teams who  had a combined record of 60-69 before the bowl game, had one loss to an 8-5 team by 7 points.  Beat 4 teams finished in the AP Top 25.

Both of these teams won the SEC Championship with 1 loss.  Team A is UGA in 2002.  Team B is LSU in 2003.  Georgia and LSU had nearly identical records in consecutive seasons.  The only difference?   Outside circumstances dictated who played for the BCS Title.   If Georgia had the same luck that other teams have had, then would this even be an issue today?

This isn’t to excuse the downslide that we  had, nor is it to excuse the maddening losses like South Carolina.  But I wish that folks would talk about actual play on the field and not crap like “Is Mark Richt too nice to win it all” or “he doesn’t have the competitive fire any more” or “he would rather go to Haiti and be a Missionary”. 

I mean come on!  Then I see this article that the man is prolonging having hip surgery.  If you really thought Mark Richt didn’t care about winning, would he be putting himself through all that pain? 

You know, I am really at the point where I hope he upsets Alabama this year and then just leaves, giving us all the finger on the way out.  That is what I would do.

He is too good of a person for something like that.  And he is too much of a competitor.

Corbindawg

19 Responses to “If I Were Mark Richt, I’d Just Quit”


  1. 1 Bevo November 7, 2012 at 10:00 am

    “You know, I am really at the point where I hope he upsets Alabama this year and then just leaves, giving us all the finger on the way out. That is what I would do.”

    You do recall his salary, no? He makes almost $3M a year. This isn’t volunteer work we’re talking about here. Very few jobs with that kind of salary don’t come with serious pressures and unreasonable demands.

    Hell, I work for a small fraction of that amount — in an very high pressure industry with difficult egos — and I deal with issues of thankless clients and bosses all the time. Sure, I can walk away. But it’s not like I didn’t choose this for myself.

    Richt could have been coaching at some small school all along if he didn’t like the pressure. This is UGA — one of the most profitable programs in CFB — and the SEC. Like politics, this stuff comes with the territory.

    • 2 Corbindawg November 7, 2012 at 10:44 am

      It is not the pressure. I think he has a great perspective on handling the pressure, otherwise he wouldn’t be 12 years in as a head coach in the SEC. It is the ungratefulness from the fans. It is personal attacks. That has nothing to do with pressure of the job.

      • 3 Bevo November 7, 2012 at 11:05 am

        Ok, pressure aside, we’re still left with the fact that most jobs involving a salary of $3M involve personal attacks (whether stockholders, competitors, media) and ungratefulness from someone.

        Being head coach at UGA is a great job. Do I feel like our fan base is over the top sometimes? Absolutely. Many fan bases are, but I don’t feel sorry for Richt because of that. Almost coaches with jobs like his — and more broadly, people in extremely visible high paying jobs — deal with these issues.

  2. 4 Matthews Dawg November 7, 2012 at 10:18 am

    I’m with you CorbinDawg! Coach Richt can stay our coach as far as I’m concerned. Great read as always!

  3. 6 ScoutDawg November 7, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Hey, get out of my head.

  4. 7 Debby Balcer November 7, 2012 at 11:43 am

    great post.

  5. 8 Ron November 7, 2012 at 11:51 am

    All of this is easy to say right now. Winning is the best medicine. But I don’t recall reading anything similar to this after the USC debacle. Let’s face it. Richt is out of his league and he essentially admits it in this interview. Football coaches are supposed to win football games. Chaplains are supposed to render life advice. I certainly respect Richt and admire him as a man. But as a football coach, he’s a failure and time will prove as much.

    Richt’s only reason for success has been the rise of metro Atlanta. He’s managed to coach for the only school in America that sits next door to the fastest growing city with essentially no competition. Ray Goff could have won during the late 90′s and early 2000′s. Put Richt in any other program and he’d already be back calling plays for another school.

    Richt isn’t a great football coach and he’s not that great of a recruiter. He’s just a lucky benefactor of population growth.

    • 9 HamDawg11 November 7, 2012 at 12:18 pm

      @Ron – a failure? Really? Even I have to say that’s harsh criticism, and I rarely flinch when someone makes a backhanded comment. The guy has won 75% of the games he has coached, and that’s in the toughest conference in the country. You can say he has underachieved, you can say he’s not “great”, you can say he isn’t one of the top coaches in the conference or the ocuntry, but I fail to see how you can say he is a failure by any stretch…

    • 10 Tuxedodawg November 7, 2012 at 12:34 pm

      You must visit this blog regularly, because Corbindawg is known for is his pure optimism — pre and post South Carolin — so, yes, something similar was here after the “USC debacle.”

      Also, essentially no competition in recruiting because Athens sits close to Metro Atlanta? That’s absurd.

    • 11 Drew November 7, 2012 at 12:52 pm

      “He’s managed to coach for the only school in America that sits next door to the fastest growing city with essentially no competition.”

      Give me some of what you’re smoking. If you’re going to cater your asinine argument to some ridiculous ‘belief’, I’d certainly like to hear your thoughts as to why Raleigh, NC; Salt Lake City, UT and Las Vegas, NV are growing faster than the Atlanta Metro – yet have, for the most part – entirely irrelevant football programs in UNC/Duke, Utah/BYU and UNLV.

      Hell I could extend the argument to include Houston and San Jose – if I really wanted to. Seeing as how our nearest competition, Auburn is a mere 100 miles from Atlanta. Yet Houston is a 162 from UTexas and 271 from LSU and San Jose is a whopping 340 from UCLA/USC.

      Source:
      1) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/08/08/america-fastest-growing-cities_n_1751549.html#slide=1343257
      2) http://www.forbes.com/sites/danielfisher/2012/04/18/americas-fastest-growing-cities/

    • 12 Sanford222View November 7, 2012 at 2:56 pm

      This might be one of the weakest statements I have ever read. No competition in recruiting? Okay sure. I guess all those players from Georgia that go to Bama, Auburn, Florida, LSU, Tennessee, FSU, Clemson, USCjr, etc. don’t count?

  6. 13 Dawgy45 November 7, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    “But as a football coach, he’s a failure and time will prove as much.”
    “Richt’s only reason for success has been the rise of metro Atlanta.”

    I thought you might want to know that you contradicted yourself in consecutive sentences.

  7. 15 Ron November 7, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    First of all, you all are way too easy targets.

    Secondly, I stand by my claim. Richt is the product of a major city exploding at the same time as his arrival on campus. My former high school coach could have won similar amounts of games during his tenure. You can name every city in America but you can’t name one city that exploded at the same time as a coach’s arrival. Couple the arrival with the south’s ability to produce great football players – and you have the makings of a lucky run.

    UGA is the only school (other than LSU) that dominates a metropolitan area. Remember, you only need 25 kids. Throw in rural GA and we dominate the state like no other school other than LSU.

    Success has been attained – sure – but that’s like saying a guy who cheats on an exam but makes a B is successful.

  8. 16 Matt November 7, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    Corbindawg, awesome post man!

  9. 17 Billy O November 7, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Ron….go relax….CMR is a winner….he just hasn’t won the big one….yet!!!!

  10. 18 Hill Dawg November 7, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    Ron, don’t spout that theory in public. Somebody in a white jacket will try to catch you with a net.

  11. 19 Savannahdawg November 8, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Well said Corbindawg, My thoughts exactly


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 894 other followers

