What? When did this come about?

Two more general thoughts from this past weekend, that are 100% not football related:

*I saw somewhere, I can’t remember when, but sometime over this past weekend I saw something on Twitter talking about the Georgia-Florida game (formerly World’s Largest Outdoor Cocktail Party) now being called the “War for the Oar”.  I just thought it was something on Twitter.  No, no.  As seen in Bernie’s video, there is an ACTUAL oar.   What the hell man?  When did this come about?  Where have I been?  Do we need to have some stupid trinket to play for like a Big 10 team?  The reason we hate Florida and want to win is becuase they are who they are.  And SEC implications.  But we don’t need no STUPID oar for this rivalry.  I thought the “Governor’s Cup” was bad, but the Okefenokee Oar is the dumbest thing I have ever seen or heard. 

*I try to stay away from “Frat Beach” while on SSI (dumb name).  I have been twice and just don’t see the appeal.  But, I have some friends that went and told me about how there were an abundance of dudes walking around wearing NBA jerseys.  I thought it was odd, but then we went to Bubba Garcia’s Friday night, and these guys were wearing their basketball jerseys out.  I probably saw 7 or 8 guys in their basketball jerseys.  After a few cocktails of my own, I finally had enough.  I walked up to one of the guys and asked him:

“Why are you wearing an Orlando Magic Tracy McGrady jersey?”

“We just came back from Frat beach,” the dude replied, continuing, “and it was cool and comfortable on the beach.”

“You see what I am wearing (blue polo shirt, jeans, loafers with no socks)?  This is what we used to wear when I was in school.  Not some basketball jerseys.  And a T-Shirt is comfortable,” I said.

“It is something that some of the frat guys are doing,” said the skanky girl that was with the two guys.

“So it is a frat thing?  How do all these different frats know about it?  Is there a Facebook group?  Is there an email listserv that goes out to all the fraternities telling them to wear NBA jerseys on the beach?” I replied.  “How was this information shared?”

With that, they shrugged their shoulders and walked away.

So, please readers help me out.  Answer two questions for me.  1)Why the hell is there now an oar for Georgia-Florida and who in the HELL thought it would be a good idea?  and 2) Since when did frat boys start wearing NBA jerseys? 

Corbindawg

4 Responses to “What? When did this come about?”


  1. 1 Vineyarddawg November 2, 2012 at 10:12 am

    The Oar came about in 2009. Just ignore it, it’s for the best. Nobody gives a damn about no oar. We just want to beat the hell out of Florida.

    (Here’s the link to the Wiki page that discusses it, though: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Florida%E2%80%93Georgia_football_rivalry )

  2. 2 Al November 2, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    The oar’s purpose was to take the attention away from the “Coctail Party” aspect of the game and divert it toward something else. I believe it is sponsored by the SGAs of both universities. Not defending it, just telling what I know.

  3. 3 Booger Presley November 2, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    You need a ten foot oar to stir the World’s Largest Cocktail. I think it’s a great idea.

  4. 4 ArborDawg November 3, 2012 at 8:09 am

    As a former frat boy myself, I feel pretty confident in saying you would have gotten your ass kicked for showing up to a function with your fraternity brothers whilst wearing an NBA jersey. Those guys aren’t UGA fraternity material. My guess is they go to Georgia southern or maybe Albany state. Ucheedawg probably knows their parents.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 943 other followers

