Georgia-Florida 2012

What a weekend. Ain’t it great to be a Georgia Bulldog!

This was a special weekend for Bulldog Nation. I don’t really care to get into breaking the game down; this was one heck of a win. In the stadium, at least in my section, we were living and dying with every snap. Nevermind the turnovers and penalties; this was a tough, hate-filled football game that our Dawgs pulled out in spite of themselves. It was also a game that changed the tune of this wonderful rivalry. UGA has won two in a row from the swamp lizzards, something that hasn’t been done in many of your lifetimes. Mark Richt can officially close the door on the Steve Spurrier era of Georgia-Florida, even though it’s 3 coaches later. As Corbin told me time and time again, this was a program win, and I couldn’t agree more. Before I ramble some, let me pause to say that Jarvis Jones deserves every ounce of praise he’s received since the game; that was one awesome performance to watch live. Also, the intensity and emotion our Dawgs showed from the minute they ran out onto the field was long overdue yet special to watch. You could tell there was an added edge the minute the Gators ran out of their gate.

More than the game, this was one of the best Georgia-Florida weekends I can remember. The weather on SSI was windy and overcast, but until Sunday morning it wasn’t too cold. The fellowship was outstanding all weekend long. That said, I only heard one person say they thought UGA would win on Saturday night prior to the game. Basically, everyone just seemed to enjoy the fellowship of Bulldog Nation converging upon the Golden Isles. Saturday night after the game was the loudest I’ve ever heard the walkways out of Everbank Field. The missus has some neat video that I’ll try to post at some point this week. I did sit next to a young lady who had probably the filthiest mouth I’ve ever heard before. Her poor boyfriend was embarassed, and rightfully so, because this gal could spew it. An ex-Marine was sitting below us and agreed that he had never heard this type of language, even in all his years of service. That’s how bad it was. But honestly I don’t think she’ll remember much of it.

This win means alot to alot of folks. In particular, I think this win means the world to two individuals: Mark Richt and corbindawg. Mark Richt for obvious reasons; nobody with half a brain will be calling for his job any more (at least until 2013) and he has his team in beautiful position to win the SEC East for the second year in a row. But this win was sweet for corbindawg for a number of reasons as well, least of which is his undying loyalty to our Georgia Bulldogs and his never-ceasing optimism. He’s a modern day Dorsey Hill, if I do say so myself. There wasn’t anyone in Jacksonville happier than him on Saturday night, and it was fun to witness that pure joy.

I’ve rambled, so forgive me, but these are just some thoughts from an amazing weekend on the coast. I won’t ever be able to erase the memories of the Zook-Meyer era of Georgia-Florida, but neither will I ever forget how sweet this one was on Saturday night. Go Dawgs!

ucheedawg

3 Responses to “Georgia-Florida 2012”


  1. 1 Joe October 29, 2012 at 10:20 am

    I’ve never felt that good leaving a stadium in my entire life. I was a Dawg behind enemy lines sitting smack dab in the depths of the Florida section with my 2 brothers and 3 of my close friends. Raising hell and enjoying the fact that we wont see a gator chomp tonight! Like my brother said before we made our way to our seats….”well boys…here we go! Great risk, Great reward!”…..it was the GREATEST of rewards! GO DAWGS

  2. 2 Robert October 29, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    I wish I could bottle the emotion, the feeling in that stadium Saturday night. My god. My buddies and I ended up sneaking into a skybox after the game and drinking victory cocktails, just soaking it all in. Best part, my birthday was Sunday. Thanks Dawgs.

    One of the best weekends of my life.

  3. 3 Jim October 29, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    A great feeling for sure. I remember how down every UGA fan was after South Carolina and not feeling really great about how the Kentucky game played out. Now, let’s not float on the clouds too much as Ole Miss would love to come in and knock us back down. Everyone who is a bulldog, from players to coaches, to fans and alumni, “just hunker down one more time, you guys.” And then, one more time after that @ Auburn.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 902 other followers

