Review of the movie “Moneyball”

My wife and I got Moneyball from the Red Box last Friday night.  It was a pretty good movie, although I am not sure why it is getting so much Oscar buzz.  I especially liked it becuase I was a big Oakland A’s fan about 10 years ago.   As I mentioned here before, my sister went to law school with Tim Hudson’s wife, Kim.  They were in the same class at Samfords’ Cumberland School of Law in Birmingham.  They would study and hang out.  When they first met, Tim was playing ball for the Huntsville (AL) AA team, an affiliate for the A’s (Mark McGwire played there also).  As Tim got promoted through the minors and eventually reached “The Show”, I continued to follow his career with great interest.  Even though I was still a Braves fan, I found myself rooting for Oakland and not missing a game if they were on TV. 

The A’s were good back then.  You forget how much talent that clubhouse had.  But something that movie never once touched on were the contributions of Mark Mulder, Tim Hudson and Barry Zito.   Look at their stats for the 2002 seaosn, the one which the movie took place: 

*Mulder went 19-7 with a 3.47 ERA, 159 K and a 1.143 WHIP

*Hudson wennt 15-9 with a 2.98 ERA, 152 K and a 1.255 WHIP

*Zito went 23-5 with a 2.75 ERA, 182 K and 1.134 WHIP AND won the AL Cy Young award.

The ONLY time one of the starters were really featured, it was during the film’s climatic scene and let’s just say it didn’t go well for Hudson.

Look, Billy Beane is a smart guy and did a good thing out in Oakland.  But come on.  To make a movie about the Oakland A’s success and not even mention the elite pitching that was going on in the Bay Area in the early part of this decade, and NOT mention Hudson, Mulder and Zito,  would be the same as making a movie about the Braves in the 1990s and only mention Fred McGriff and David Justice (who, speaking of, was mentioned more in the movie than the pitchers). 

Corbindawg

6 Responses to “Review of the movie “Moneyball””


  1. 1 Spence January 31, 2012 at 9:53 am

    You make a good point, though I thought it was great to have a sports movie without Sandra Bullock, Disney, or an over-the-top come-from-behind Mighty Ducks moment. Just a good movie.

    The book does the pitching more justice (no pun). The book does everything more justice. But they had to pick a story line without just being a stats dork movie.

  2. 3 Tuxedodawg January 31, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    The book is really good. It was an excellent Christmas present. But the movie was a plot that’s gonna sell tickets. It’s still good in my opinion, though.

  3. 4 Brett February 1, 2012 at 11:19 am

    I wish the movie had focused more on the sabermetrics. The movie took the intense focus on Billy Beane that Michael Lewis cover the idea and ratchets it up to 11.

    I think Lewis did a great job of discussing the contribution and subsequent backlash against Bill James, and the movie kind of drops that plot line. I guess it just doesn’t translate.

    Also. Lewis trashes Joe Morgan a lot. The movie totally utilizes his rants in the complete opposite way.

  4. 5 marblemadness February 2, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    I watched the movie on a 9 hour flight, and I thought it was great. Why do you always have to be so critical corbindawg?

    • 6 Corbindawg February 2, 2012 at 2:50 pm

      I didn’t say it wasn’t a good, enjoyable movie. As a general rule, I agree with Spence I don’t like sports movies becuase they are over the top and unrealistic.

      My only problem is how the movie completely ignored the pitching, and didn’t even name Barry Zito as a reason of the team’s success that season, specifically in regards to him winning the Cy Young in 2002 (the season in the film).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 903 other followers

