Sanders Commings Needs To Listen To Chris Rock

When I first heard that Sanders Commings was arrested the other night, I was thinking “Oh boy, here we go again.”  But when I heard why he was arrested, I was disgusted.

It is widely known around Athens-and we make no bones about it here on TGT-that the ACC PD and the UGA PD led by inept Jimmy Williamson get off on making arrests on petty crimes.  Most of the reasons the “rouge” football team at Georgia has gotten such a bad rap, similar infractions at other institutions would  not be such a big deal.  The over zealous police force combined with all the bars and temptations of downtown Athens is a recipie for police involvement on a Thursday-Saturday night.

But the crime of which Sanders is accused for is especially troubling.  This is not just boys being boys.  It is not a victimless crime like underage drinking or Ian Smith passing out in the bathroom at Amici’s. 

Now, I am going to wait for the justice system to play itself out here.  Innocent until proven guilty.  Sanders’ side has not come out yet, and there was no sign of injury to the young lady involved.  This could come out to be a story a few years ago where the football players involved in the incident were actually the peacemakers (can’t remember off the top of my head who that was, but you remember).  But according  to Emerson, this is not the first time a complaint has been filed at this house.  That is very troubling.

If it comes out that this was infact as bad as it appears, I would have no problem with Coach Richt dismissing Commings from the team.   Violence should not be acceptable; violence against women should be zero tolerance.  As a man, you just don’t do that.  This isn’t a drunken bar fight.  This is serious stuff that a man, a real man with honor, should not do.

Hopefully this will blow over and once the facts come out, the truth will show this is all a misunderstanding.  The team needs Sanders next season, especially with the deparure of Boykin.  But more importantly, a young man doesn’t want domestic violence and battery to follow him around for the rest of his life, in a paper trail and on the inside.

When I was thinking about this case, I remember a Chris Rock stand up bit where he talks about how to handle an unruly woman, and how you don’t hit her (very, very NSFW):

Corbindawg

2 Responses to “Sanders Commings Needs To Listen To Chris Rock”


  1. 1 Dawg 39 January 24, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    Not only do I agree, but i completely agree.
    I hope for Commings sake that somebody can help him get his head on straight. I would like for that to happen, whatever it takes.
    Zero tolerance for domestic violence is the way to go. Ask anybody in law Enforcement. What he alledgedly did is totally unacceptable, period.

  2. 2 paul January 25, 2012 at 9:19 am

    My dad always told me I couldn’t lay a finger on a woman any time for any reason. Period. No exceptions. No gray areas. He said if a woman was getting ready to shoot me I couldn’t even use force in self defense. I was simply going to have to let her shoot me. So make sure you never piss a lady off enough to make her want to do that. To this day I never even so much as raise my voice to a female. It doesn’t matter to me how mad you are, how drunk you are or how completely untrue what she said about you was. You touch a lady and you’re done. One time is too many. You get forgiven (by God, not me) but you don’t get a second chance.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 909 other followers

