Cold Water

I am glad that Corbin is an optimistic Dawg fan. He’s like a kid in a candy shop when Phil Steele comes out each year. He’s even fun to be around that first week of the season. There is no person in the world who genuinely thinks UGA has a chance every year quite like our close friend. Some folks don’t like the optimism, but I find it refreshing.

That said, I’m not as optimistic year in and year out as Corbin. Some years I get pretty hyped up, but others I border on pessimistic. This year, as Phil Steele has come out, I’m a little “on the fence.”

I know what PS says and I like what I read. Our schedule really is much more manageable¬†than it has been the past few years. And yes, I do think that we’ll be better than last (we dang sure better be.) But I’m not ready to anoint us #9 in the country.

I think PS the best in the business. However, I question his appointment¬†of UGA this year as SEC East winner. Primarily because he does not list a single UGA player on 1st or 2nd team Defense and that he is mighty confident that our phenom freshman running back will be just that. On the defense, I understand that Alabama has a lot of those positions locked up and that it’s a unit thing; I just hope our defense plays well enough to win 9-10 games this year. Maybe the slightly softer schedule will allow it. The thing is, there’s really no such thing as a soft schedule in the SEC.

I hope Corbin and PS are right. I’m not saying they’re dead wrong, I’m just a little more cautious. Either way, go get your copy so you can get your giddiness on this summer.

ucheedawg

2 Responses to “Cold Water”


  1. 1 Cojones June 6, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Didn’t know that predictions or “feelings” about the Dawgs had become a science. I’m always optimistic about the Dawgs and agree with CorbinDawg’s “feelings” because he is an optimist as well. We can all predict dire endings to every game if we like and try to make it stick with some sort of logic. People express themselves towards the Dawgs mostly according to their personality. Correctly calling a season is a fluke. If one is afraid that their status as a guru or prognosticator of the future is threatened by guessing wrong, maybe one shouldn’t try to come off as a seer. Otherwise, why watch the game? Perhaps you are trying to immulate Dooley who always had us playing the national championship every game. However, if having a pessimistic outlook builds the game up more in your mind
    such that winning is glory on a pedestal that’s ok, but if you think your outlook is more logical(more scientific) you are incorrect. It’s all guessing and in some cases more hoping as to the outcome of any game or season. Why waste your time being negative?

  2. 2 barndawg June 7, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    100 % agreeing with you on his pre-season defense. Whether Isaiah is or not, No way we win the East without at least having 1 player in the at least the all SEC 2nd team Defense.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 890 other followers

