BBQ Thursday: The Butt Hutt

The Butt Hutt

We’ve covered BBQ in Athens before, but there’s one place that has become one of my favorites: The Butt Hutt.  My roommate and his girlfriend ate there a few months ago, so I decided to try it then. All I can remember about my first time at Butt Hutt was that I had to come back. I went last week to have their full meal.

The Butt Hutt is located next to UGA campus on Baxter Street between Lumpkin and Milledge, located in the same building as Jimbo’s Gas Station.   I think it has become so popular that they have opened another one in Elberton, Ga.

You can tell the pic is dated. We haven't had clouds & rain since March...

End of a Gas Station

The owners know their BBQ trinity of meat, stew & slaw, and they pull off all three really well.  I ordered the BBQ pork plate so I could try all three, and it was excellent! The plate:

Meat 4.75/5
I like my pulled pork moist, with smoky flavor, and served plain.  This meat was all three.

Stew 5/5
Like my fellow posters, I’m picky about my stew.  A bad stew can ruin an entirely good BBQ meal, but that’s just my opinion.  Butt Hutt’s stew was right on the money.  It was a great balance of all the ingredients plus a little bit of kick. And after having it  I loved the fact that i had more stew than BBQ meat (which is saying a lot).

Slaw 4/5
The Butt Hutt offers two different types of slaw, vinegar based and mayo based. I talked the waitress into getting me half of one and half of the other so I could try them both out. The slaw was made fresh. It was more cubed than rough chopped, which didn’t bother me. They were both good, but I was more a fan of the mayo based slaw.  The vinegar based slaw with the vinegar sauce on the BBQ was just a little too much vinegar.  All in all, the variety was nice, but I’ve had better.

Sauce 4/5
The Butt Hutt offers 4 sauces Sweet, Vinegar, Hot, Mild. Now, in my opinion sauces are good to have, but if the meat is cooked right you don’t really need it.  All of the sauces were good and you could use them to mix and match.  If you like all of your BBQ Vinegar, you can get the Vinegar slaw and use the Vinegar sauce– same with Mayo Slaw and Sweet Sauce.

Environment 5/5
Not to mention that you basically park a gas station, the Butt Hutt looks like a BBQ restaurant in Athens should. There’s only room for seating around 20 in the place, plus there is red and UGA stuff everywhere. The first time I went, Mike “Big Dawg” Woods was there eating and talking about about the football team with the waitress. Awesome stuff.

The Wall

The Wall

If you’re ever in Athens around lunch or supper, check out the folks at The Butt Hutt. You won’t be disappointed.

barn

And… picture to leave you with:

I think this was the Big Dawg's truck

2 Responses to “BBQ Thursday: The Butt Hutt”


  1. 1 Herschel Blogger May 26, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    I LOVE that you made it to the Butt Hutt! Although it’s currently slipped to my 3rd favorite BBQ in Athens, it’s such a solid #3! I eat there at least twice a month. My favorite side is the deep fried corn nuggets (gotta try them.) A couple fun memories: The day that Urban stepped down from Florida (the second and final time,) I went to get my BBQ and Big Dawg Woods was there. I got to be the one to tell him about Urban and he was so happy he barked in my face. Also, last spring when Logan Gray was considering transferring (the spring before he switched to WR,) he was eating there with a couple of other players and I got to talk to him and we had a whole long talk about him staying.
    What a great place.

  2. 2 Tuxedodawg May 26, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    I gotta say, the two times that I’ve been to the Butt Hutt, I was disappointed. I thought the meat was very, very dried out. I like that they don’t mix sauce into the meat, but I wish it had a little bit more moisture. Agree to disagree. If you want BBQ in Athens, just go to Jot Em Down.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 890 other followers

