Don’t Let the Door Hit You Where the Good Lord Split You

Chris Low is reporting that Washaun Ealey has been suspended indefinitely. 

The internet has been buzzing the last couple of days about rumors that Ealey has been kicked off the team for failing to appear for a punishment run.  Usually, I dismiss message board rumors until Seth Emerson or the World Wide Leader reports it. 

But when Kensingtondawg told me last night, I didn’t think it was just hearsay.  I believed it and didn’t need much more confirmation.

 Isn’t Ealey the same guy who

  • took a swing during the G-Day Game?
  • hit a parked car in deck, then ran off-after Coach Richt explicitly told him not to drive until he got his license problems straightened out? 
  • fumbled on the goal line in a loss to Kentucky?
  • fumbled on the goal line in a loss to South Carolina?
  • fumbled on the goal line in a loss to Mississippi State?

Yeah, I thought so. 

I think the rampant problems with player discipline are heavily exaggerated.  In a lot of instances, you have overzealous ACC/UGA PD combined with the temptations of a college town.  Boys will be boys.  But in Ealey’s case (and King’s-he is subject to other rumors we won’t get into here)-he has demonstrated behavior that is more detrimental to the team than having a good time at Bourbon Street.

When you buck authority-twice-you should not be surprised when the hammer comes down.  Mark Richt showed with the Mettenberger situation he doesn’t like to misled or lied to.  I thought Ealey should have been dismissed back in the summer; he disobeyed an order.  That shows lack of respect for the head coach.  Now he did it again.

I had a boss once, a man I really respect.  He was very good man.  He reminded me a lot of Mark Richt; calm, cool, collected.  He never got too mad or too excited.  He would forgive you if you owned up for your mistakes and take your medicine like a man.  I once did something wrong, and as soon as I realized I messed up, I told him.  I called him and apologized.  He wasn’t happy with me-and let me know it- but he told me later on that he appreciated my honestly.  Though I screwed up, my boss held me in higher regard from that point forward.

I understand Ealey may have had his feelings hurt over the Crowell recruiting.  But guess what?   Ealey hasn’t done squat to deserve his entitlement.  Ealey has proven over a season and a half he can’t be trusted to A) not fumble and B) be accountable and not miss time due to stupid issues. 

When adversity hits, do work harder or do you quit?  Washaun has made his choice.  And do you really want someone like that on the team, bringing everyone down?

If things are going to change in Athens, this is a good first step.  Bernie said in our first podcast there is an absence of accountability.  There are a lot of problems with this team, with lack of talent not being at the top. Attitude is the problem. Attitdue from the coaches AND players.  Coaches and players don’t’ deserve to feel entitled when you have lost 12 games in 2 seasons.   

Washaun, this is your bed.  You now get to lay in it. 

Corbindawg

5 Responses to “Don’t Let the Door Hit You Where the Good Lord Split You”


  1. 1 BuyPropertyUcheeDawg! February 8, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Couldn’t agree more, Corbin.

  2. 2 sam February 8, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Bandwagoners!! You loved Ealey after “We Run, This State,” now he can do nothing for you…I wish him the best in whatever happens.

  3. 3 wisedawg February 8, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Sam, just because we enjoyed watching Ealey run all over the bumblebees doesn’t mean that we felt he was the answer to our problems. He was one of our problems. The goal line fumble”S” (plural) were devastating. Ealey has been inconsistent and rather disappointing since he started. To be quite honest, Ben Jones could just have easily “Run This State” in that game. Maybe the bumblebees would like to have Ealey though…

  4. 4 69Dawg February 8, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    The fact that he did what he did last summer was enough to get him kicked off most teams. It made Richt look bad because he had kicked Zack to the curb for lying but not WE for basically ignoring a direct order. He is a good running back but he is also a loose cannon. I hope he can work his way back on the team but he should have to out work every single player to get back.

  5. 5 barndawg February 9, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    I think the fumbles were probably enough to at least not play for a while. How many strikes to you get for fumbling the ball?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 890 other followers

