Auburn Is A Curse Word

I have always had a healthy respect for Auburn. Like many, I consider them our “sister school”. UGA and Auburn share a lot of tradition. We’ve traded coaches and recruits over the decades. They’re the school that most resembles UGA. I even pull for them to win 9-10 times a year.

I’ve got a lot of friends who are graduates of Auburn. When I was an undergrad, I made some close friends who were in my fraternity at Auburn. During the offseason, we would meet up occasionally and have a good time. They were like us. My in-laws are Auburn grads (something I’ve had to deal with, but it’s been a friendly relationship.) Like me, they pull for UGA most every weekend but one. I go to Sunday School with a couple of Auburn grads. It’s always been a very friendly rivalry. I never shared the hatred of them that T. Kyle King does.

On Saturday, that changed. I’ve never in my life been so furious with an opponent. Never did UF make me so mad, despite running up scores, doing the Chomp, and generally being a classless bunch. Never have I hated Tech the way I despised Auburn on Saturday. Tennessee has come close on occasion, but my blood never boiled the way it did on Saturday.

On Saturday, I lost every ounce of respect I’ve ever had for Auburn. It takes a lot to come down from a fairly tall pedestal they had built as “the other team I pull for if somehow Georgia can’t win it all.” But they did it in one day.

I dislike their coach. Their team is full of thugs. I hope Cam Newton doesn’t win the Heisman, is implicated of all his wrong doings, and has a terrible NFL career. I would have been seriously injured had I been in the presence of Nick Fairley on Saturday, because I would have tried to take on a young man who could break me in half with one hand tied behind his back. But I would have tried.

I’ve wished the worst upon Tennessee, Florida and Tech my whole life. Never have I wanted them to win a single game. I now throw Auburn into that category. I’ve never wanted something bad to happen to a program the way I do Auburn right now. The pain from Saturday has clearly not subsided.

I know it’s not Christian-like to hold such a grudge, but I simply can’t help it. The way in which they carried themselves was as classless as I’ve ever seen. I prayed on Sunday morning that I not hold such hard feelings in my heart for a group of individuals, but those feelings have not left. Thankfully God provides grace and forgiveness, because I sure need it.

2 weeks ago, I was hoping Auburn would beat Alabama. Now, I hope Bama beats the brakes off of them. I hope they cripple them and beat them by 3 scores. And I hope they get the chance to keep their starters in the game to the very end, even though they shouldn’t. And then I hope South Carolina embarrasses them in the SECCG. I hope Garcia has a career day against their secondary. I hope Lattimore runs for 200 yards.  And whoever Auburn plays in a bowl game, may they beat them like a drum.

Maybe the feelings will subside. I know, and God knows, that it’s not Christian-like to hold such a grudge, and I hope that I’m forgiven. But right now, Auburn is a curse word in my household. I don’t like the feeling I have for them. It’s not right to have such strong feelings towards anyone. But I can’t help it.

I’ll take Mark Richt and his Christian attitude and actions any day of the week over a team that behaves the way Auburn did on Saturday. I’ve been on the fence about CMR’s future, but right now I’ll take him and the class he brings to the program over anyone else in America. I’d rather be classy and 5-6 than be represented the way Auburn was on Saturday. There is more to life than winning football games. (I know someone will bring up rushing the field against Florida, but that’s an exception) I would be ashamed if I was an Auburn dad trying to teach my son the wonderful life lessons you can learn from SEC football right now.

Roll Tide. Beat them senseless. Go Cocks. Get that SEC Championship you’ve waited so long for.

Go Dawgs!

ucheedawg

15 Responses to “Auburn Is A Curse Word”


  1. 1 WDE06 November 15, 2010 at 10:19 am

    War Eagle!

    Don’t worry most Auburn fans have felt that way about ThUGA since the blackout and soldier boy dancing on the sideline.

    • 2 Corbindawg November 15, 2010 at 10:31 am

      There is a difference. I don’t have a major problem with Cam Newton blowing kisses and show boating. We did the Solider Boy (although you have to admit, it was fun. You had Gary Danielson and Verne doing it. If it was so wrong, they wouldn’t be dancing). If you can’t take it don’t dish it. Payback is ok.

      What the problem is is the THUGNESS. Your coach was waving his arms up and down and getting the crowd pumped while 2 players were getting ejected. You a player who has knocked out TWO QBs so far this season and was trying his damndest to make it a 3rd.

      • 3 WDE06 November 15, 2010 at 12:22 pm

        Don’t act like UGA fans wouldn’t have been pumped to get Cam out of the game. The hit in the back to Murray was in poor taste. But Fairley was getting frustrated after being chop blocked over and over again. UGA’s OL knew he was going to be a problem and tried to take Fairley out early.

        If you can’t take the hits play tennis.

        Trooper was trying to get Fairley away from the UGA players before they took another cheap shot at him.

        Richt has no control and showed it. Move on before he hurts UGA even more.

      • 4 Corbindawg November 15, 2010 at 12:39 pm

        Richt has no control? Chizik was fist pumping WHILE he had two players get ejected.

        The UGA OL tried to take him out early? Are you dillusional? If we were chop blocking Fairley the whole game, don’t you think the officials would have called it?

        When Murray scampered on third down on UGA’s first drive, Fairley got hurt and had to leave the game. He was probably mad that a 6’0″ 200 lb QB could wound up on the winning side of that exchange.

        Murray can take the hits, as he got up over and over again from the violent, late hits brought forth by Fairley.

        And it is just not UGA fans who think this, WDE06.

        http://espn.go.com/blog/sec/post/_/id/16755/fairley-gets-away-with-a-few

        http://blogs.ajc.com/barnhart-college-football/2010/11/15/its-going-to-be-a-long-11-days-until-the-iron-bowl/?cxntfid=blogs_barnhart_college_football

  2. 5 squarebush November 15, 2010 at 10:35 am

    “Don’t worry most Auburn fans have felt that way about ThUGA since the blackout and soldier boy dancing on the sideline.”

    Thanks for the laugh.

  3. 6 A Different Jim November 15, 2010 at 11:36 am

    What is there to like about a school who knows they are going to be beat and had water cannons ready to attack our fans. The year before the same classless people destroyed the hedges at our stadium. They did not want their field to be treated the way they treated ours.

    • 7 WDE06 November 15, 2010 at 12:23 pm

      Before my time, but you have to have some big ones to rush an opposing teams field. Go what you deserved.

      • 8 Skingledawg November 15, 2010 at 12:36 pm

        Yes WDE06, clearly the team taking cheap shots was UGA, not Auburn. Clearly the coach that showed no control of his players was Richt, not Chizik. Clearly Fairley was just trying to protect himself, not injure anybody….

        All of that is about is clear as the sh*! Auburn is going to be sitting in when the NCAA and FBI finishes their investigation. Enjoy the top while it lasts, because the inevitable fall will be hard!

      • 9 sUGArdaddy November 15, 2010 at 1:11 pm

        Yeah, we got it alright. We got a win over #6 that night with our back-up QB playing. I don’t care about Fairley, and I don’t care about the hero worship and self-idolatry going on in Auburn. And, mind you, that’s just what it is. That part kind of makes me feel sickly, but if those people want to worship a kid and he wants to indulge in it…who cares.

        I do care that you cheated. And, brother, you cheated to get that kid. There ain’t no way around it. Chizk went from a 2-10 coach at Iowa St. to hiring Trooper Taylor and getting top 5 recruiting classes. How else, exactly, did you think that happened.

        Dance and cheap shot all you want. That doesn’t bother me. Cheating does. And whether you get caught or not, you tied your destiny to JUCOs. And you can’t build a program with JUCOs. It’ll kill you, in every which way. Just ask Jackie Sherrill.

  4. 10 WDE06 November 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    Best a luck against GT. Hopefully you guys will be spending Bowl Season in beautiful Birmingham, AL.

    • 11 Corbindawg November 15, 2010 at 1:23 pm

      And three years from now, enjoy listening to the games on the Auburn radio network due to the TV ban and wishing you could be going to a bowl.

  5. 12 dawg95 November 15, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    I agree with every word of your post 100%.

    WDE06…Thanks for the well wishes. At least we will probably go to a bowl game for the next few years.

  6. 13 Spence November 15, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Amen.

    It is truly laughable and pathetic that Auburn fans have decided to accuse UGA and CMR of taking cheap shots and being thugs. One even had the audacity to criticize UGA for using “paid” players, (because of AJ).

    Unreal.

  7. 14 TuxedoDawg November 15, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    WDE06, I know I’m a little late getting on this, but come on now. There’s a time to stand next to your team and to step back and say, “Wow, that was out of line.”

    Oh, and smart ass, I almost broke my hip playing tennis. State playoffs — landed in the bar of a fence returning a strong forehand with a lot of topspin. Thank you very much. Check mate and good night.


  1. 1 If a Tree Fell in the Woods… « The Grit Tree Trackback on December 1, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 935 other followers

