BBQ Thursday (on Friday)- The BBQ Shop, Memphis

It is very easy for me to understand why The BBQ Shop was rated by this website as the #1 bbq joint in Memphis, Tennessee. Without further ado, I’ll jump right in to the review.

 The BBQ Shop is one of those restaurants that is not like your dive joints you find scattered about the rural landscape. Its appearance on the inside is more of a Jim ‘N Nicks than a Scott’s BBQ. And it is a far cry from A&R BBQ that corbindawg and I ate at earlier in the week. The BBQ Shop is a restaurant, complete with a bar, exquisite prints and sports paraphernalia on the walls, and multiple seating rooms with your choice of booths and tables. Truth be told, I am not a huge fan of this type of bbq joint; I’d rather not have all the choices. I don’t like feeling that I need to be on my best behavior when dining at a bbq joint.

I quickly got past the initial impressions when our waitress brought out our sweet tea. Let me emphasize sweet. It was almost as sweet as grandma makes it. The menu was full of options. Since this was a one-time stop, we decided to go all out. Now, normally a bbq joint that serves appetizers raises a red flag, but we had heard good things about the bbq nachos, so we gave them a try.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          It’s hard to tell from the picture, but above you have nachos covered with bbq, bbq sauce, peppers and cheese. Regular nachos will never be the same. I recommend getting yourself an order if you’re ever in the neighborhood.

Splurging, we both ordered the combo, ribs and pulled. They split our ribs for us, half dry half wet. We both got slaw and beans.

 

In you can’t tell, that’s a PILE of food. The pulled pork or the ribs alone would have been enough to satisfy any grown man. It came with toast rather than white bread, which was kind of an oddity, but that’s ok.

Everything I’ve said already should be thrown out the window. This food was some of the best to ever touch my lips. The ribs were fat, with plenty of meat. In my opinion, the wet were better than the dry. Of course, corbin says the opposite, so you’ll have to make your own decision. Regardless, they were both outstanding. However, the ribs play second fiddle to the pulled pork. The cooks in the back know what they are doing when it comes to this. It’s hard for me to say that someone can compete with Fresh Air, but these guys can. The meat was tender and moist, with just the right amount of sauce to accent the pork. In a word, delicious. As corbindawg would say, that was some dang good hog!

To be honest, there was so much meat on our plates that neither of us were able to truly enjoy the slaw and beans. I did take the obligatory taste of each, and they were good, but I was so full trying to finish the meat that I am unable to give a very good review on those.

The meal was a little pricy; our bill was over $40. I wouldn’t typically pay that much for bbq, but it was the experience that we were looking for on this particular evening.

I would definitely recommend visiting the BBQ Shop if you’re ever in Memphis, but skip the meal before, because you’re going to get more than you bargained for. Great food, different atmosphere, and friendly service. I hope to go back one day.

ucheedawg

4 Responses to “BBQ Thursday (on Friday)- The BBQ Shop, Memphis”


  1. 1 Donald July 2, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Perfect timing, I will be travelling thru Memphis twice over the holiday weekend. I will (must) try this place at least once. Thanks for the non-UGA related information.

  2. 3 jtcrews July 4, 2010 at 2:29 am

    One of the few things I truly miss about memphis. The owner of this restaurant is one of the nicest people you will ever meet. Use to eat there twice a week and I have never had a better pulled pork sandwich. Next time you guys find yourself in memphis make sure you try out central bbq in midtown and the commisary in germantown, they are just as good. Oh and donald they are closed on sundays I think.


  1. 1 To Any Dawg Fans Driving to Memphis This Week « The Grit Tree Trackback on December 28, 2010 at 10:30 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 943 other followers

