Where Can One Find the Best Brunswick Stew in Atlanta?

The AJC.com has a story asking readers to name their favorite BBQ joints to get their favorite Brunswick stew (after clicking the link, you may want to refresh the page).   

If you are going through the Atlanta area, you may want to check some of these places out.

And BBQ Thursday will return this week with my review of a recent visit to JoMax BBQ in Metter.

Corbindawg

10 Responses to “Where Can One Find the Best Brunswick Stew in Atlanta?”


  1. 1 ucheedawg April 27, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I know it’s not in ATL, but Fresh Air really does have good stew. And slaw. And bbq. And Smoke ‘n Pig in Valdosta also has some pretty good stew.

  2. 2 Andy Coleman April 27, 2010 at 11:29 am

    My grandparents live about 5 minutes from the original Fresh Air in Jackson. I say…AMEN to some Fresh Air BBQ and stew! That stuff will always be tops in my heart…and my stomach!

  3. 3 KW April 27, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Matthews Cafeteria in Tucker!

  4. 4 Reptillicide April 27, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Hometown BBQ (previously Gunter’s) in Lawrenceville had some really good Brunswick stew, but I don’t know if they are still there or not.

  5. 5 Corbindawg April 27, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    There was a place my brother took me one time in Atlanta. I can’t remember the name of the place, but it was off I-20 near Turner Field, going eastbound.

    It was in a SKETCH area, but the food was pretty good. It was a really old building, and apparently a famous place. Any ideas?

    For my money, Dusty’s off Briarcliff was outstanding. Alas, it is closed down. RIP Dusty’s.

  6. 6 Daryl April 27, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    not sure if it’s still there, but the best stew i ever had was from Purvis BBQ in Wadley, GA. mmm…. Fresh Air reminds me of it.

  7. 7 Scott April 27, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    Corbindawg:

    You may be talking about Harold’s.

    I haven’t tried the stew at a lot of places, but Fresh Air in Jackson was my first and is still the best I have had. This make me miss my Grandfather that took me there.

  8. 9 TuxedoDawg April 27, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    Dusty’s closed down? Man, they had some great sauce! Sauce shouldn’t make the BBQ, meat should, but it does help a whole lot if it is good.

    • 10 Corbindawg April 27, 2010 at 9:40 pm

      Yep Dusty’s closed last year. I believe they just cater now. The homemade potato chips and sour cream dip was the tops. Peach cobbler was good. But this conversation is about stew, which was top notch there also.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 900 other followers

